> Skip to content

'A rollicking combination of art and archaeology, forgeries, drug deals, and tourists, Montezuma, murder, and love. Dancing with the Tiger is smart, sexy, and extremely suspenseful. Block out some time – once you start, you won’t be putting it down' Karen Joy Fowler, author of We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves and The Jane Austen Book Club

NAMED AS AN EDGAR AWARDS FINALIST 2017: BEST FIRST NOVEL

The death mask of Montezuma. A priceless artefact.

Lost. Looted. Sold. Stolen. Traded. Hunted. Wanted. Needed.

Anna has just discovered her father’s credibility as a renowned art collector is in ruins and her own reputation as a fact checker is in tatters.

But she has a chance to redeem herself, to restore both her and her father. She needs to go to Mexico, find the mask, and bring it to America where it will form the focal point of a new exhibition.

But other people want that mask – and they will stop at nothing to get it.

Lili Wright's exuberant, energetic, exciting debut takes us into a world of heat, colour and danger, where to survive Anna must negotiate with criminals, flatter the powerful and take her life in her hands.

Reviews

Everything you could want in a summer caper... salty-sweet, refreshing and more powerful than you think.

New York Times Book Review

[A] whirling debut novel.

Washington Post

A powerful story of art-smuggling and drug dealing in Mexico.

Sebastian Shakespeare, Tatler

Dancing with the Tiger is a gripping and powerful story of artefact smuggling and drug dealing in Mexico, driven by Lili Wright's deep compassion for the people and place she writes about

Jess Walter, author of Beautiful Ruins

An entrancing, provocative and utterly beguiling debut. Like its heroine, Lili Wright’s Dancing with the Tiger is so vibrant and alive you can practically feel the pages humming beneath your fingers. Not to be missed

Megan Abbott, author of Dare Me and The Fever

A rollicking combination of art and archaeology, forgeries, drug deals, and tourists, Montezuma, murder, and love.Dancing with the Tiger is smart, sexy, and extremely suspenseful. Block out some time – once you start, you won’t be putting it down

Karen Joy Fowler, author of We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves and The Jane Austen Book Club

Thrilling... A deep look at what it means to be masked, Wright's novel is a worthwhile read for anyone in search of an authentically flawed heroine who learns to remove her own mask in a world where remaining hidden feels like the safest option.

Publishers Weekly

A fast-moving [and] intricately wrought thriller. Clearly written with great care, the novel plumbs the depths of love and obsession in complex yet delicately woven themes… will appeal to fans of Megan Abbott, Denise Mina, and Minette Walters.

Booklist

A whirling tale of art and its sometimes sordid acquisition… [Lots of] valuable insights to unearth in this wild novel.

The Washington Post

Read More

Formats & editions

  • Trade Paperback

    9781846559969

    July 15, 2016

    Harvill Secker

    464 pages

    RRP $27.99

    Online retailers

    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Amazon
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Dymocks
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • The Nile
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

  • EBook

    9781473522831

    July 14, 2016

    Vintage Digital

    464 pages

    Online retailers

    • iBooks
    • Amazon Kindle
    • Booktopia
    • eBooks
    • Google Play
    • Kobo