> Skip to content
  • Published: 2 July 2024
  • ISBN: 9781529922271
  • Imprint: Century
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 464
  • RRP: $34.99

Confessions of the Dead




The smallest towns hide the darkest secrets . . . Drawing elements from the horror genre, this eerie standalone suspense thriller is perfect for fans of Stephen King.

The dead tell no tales . . .

Hollows Bend is a picture-perfect New England town. The crime rate – zero – is a point of pride for Sheriff Ellie Pritchett.

The day the stranger shows up is when the trouble starts.

The sheriff and her deputy investigate the mysterious teenage girl. None of the locals can place her. She can’t – or won’t – answer any questions. She won’t even tell them her name.

While the girl is in protective custody, the officers are called to multiple crime scenes leading them closer and closer to a lake outside of town that doesn’t appear on any map . . .

_________________________________________

PRAISE FOR JAMES PATTERSON

'It's no mystery why James Patterson is the world's most popular thriller writer ... Simply put: nobody does it better.' JEFFERY DEAVER

'No one gets this big without amazing natural storytelling talent - which is what Jim has, in spades.' LEE CHILD

'Patterson boils a scene down to the single, telling detail, the element that defines a character or moves a plot along. It's what fires off the movie projector in the reader's mind.' MICHAEL CONNELLY

'James Patterson is The Boss. End of.' IAN RANKIN

'The master storyteller of our times.' HILLARY RODHAM CLINTON

'One of the greatest storytellers of all time.' PATRICIA CORNWELL

'James Patterson is the gold standard by which all others are judged.' STEVE BERRY

  • Published: 2 July 2024
  • ISBN: 9781529922271
  • Imprint: Century
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 464
  • RRP: $34.99

About the author

James Patterson

JAMES PATTERSON is one of the best-known and biggest-selling writers of all time. His books have sold in excess of 375 million copies worldwide. He is the author of some of the most popular series of the past two decades – the Alex Cross, Women’s Murder Club, Detective Michael Bennett and Private novels – and he has written many other number one bestsellers including romance novels and stand-alone thrillers.

James is passionate about encouraging children to read. Inspired by his own son who was a reluctant reader, he also writes a range of books for young readers, including the Middle School, I Funny, Treasure Hunters, House of Robots, Confessions, and Maximum Ride series. James has donated millions in grants to independent bookshops and has been the most borrowed author of adult fiction in UK libraries for the past eleven years in a row. He lives in Florida with his wife and son.

Also by James Patterson

See all