> Skip to content
  • Published: 1 August 2011
  • ISBN: 9781407056371
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 480

Coastliners

from Joanne Harris, the bestselling author of Chocolat, comes a heartfelt, lyrical and life-affirming novel of courage and conviction




By the author of the bestselling CHOCOLAT - a powerful novel of a hardy island community fighting the encroaching seas.

From the pen of international multi-million copy seller Joanne Harris, Coastliners is a powerful novel of a hardy island community fighting the encroaching seas. Written with her characteristic vivid descriptions, expert characterisation and sensuous language, this is a real treat for fans of Victoria Hislop, Fiona Valpy, Maggie O'Farrell and Rachel Joyce.

'A winning blend of fairy-tale morality and gritty realism' -- INDEPENDENT
'Sensuous, evocative...you can almost feel the sand between your toes and taste the salty air' -- HEAT
'I was hooked by page 2. Brilliantly written' -- ***** Reader review
'This book kept me gripped from start to finish' -- ***** Reader review
'Page turner to the last page' -- ***** Reader review

*************************************************************************************************
On the tiny Breton island of Le Devin, life has remained almost unchanged for over a hundred years. For generations, two rival communities have fought for control of the island's only beach.

When Mado returns home to her village after a ten-year absence, she finds it threatened, both by the tides and by a local entrepreneur. Worse, the community is suffering from an incurable loss of hope. Taking up the fight to transform the dying village, Mado must confront past tragedies, including the terrible secret that still haunts her father.

  • Published: 1 August 2011
  • ISBN: 9781407056371
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 480

About the author

Joanne Harris

Joanne Harris’s Whitbread-shortlisted Chocolat was made into an Oscar-nominated film starring Juliette Binoche and Johnny Depp. She is the author of many other bestselling novels, including Lollipop Shoes and Peaches for Monsieur le Curé, both also featuring Vianne Rocher, as is her new novel The Strawberry Thief. She has also written acclaimed novels in such diverse genres as fantasy based on Norse myth (Runemarks, Runelight, The Gospel of Loki), and the Malbry cycle of dark psychological thrillers (Gentlemen & Players, Blueeyedboy, and Different Class).

Born in Barnsley, of an English father and a French mother, she spent fifteen years as a teacher before (somewhat reluctantly) becoming a full-time writer. In 2013, she was awarded an MBE. She lives in Yorkshire, plays bass and flute in a band first formed when she was sixteen, and works in a shed in her garden.

Also by Joanne Harris

See all

Praise for Coastliners

Coastliners is another triumph for Joanne Harris who shows that her powerful imagery is not exclusive to food and uses the coastline, sea and beaches to heighten the senses, drawing the reader further in with each incoming tide. A must-read

Punch

A riveting read with wonderfully rounded characters

Hello!

Everything about her style is aerodynamic ... Harris writes well, and charming, cinema-friendly images and cinematic mysteries abound ... stylish and economical

Sunday Times

Harris' engaging style is extremely readable

Observer

Harris is a writer of tremendous charm, who creates a winning blend of fairy-tale morality and gritty realism

Independent

Harris' knowledge of France is completely authentic, and present in the detail. For this book she has studied the sea, the island community, the nautical detail, meticulously and it shows. It gives the novel interest and weight

Scotsman

Her latest gripping tale ... An intoxicating mix of documentary realism and enchanting romance

Daily Express

Her writing is consistently evocative, sensual and atmospheric

Mail on Sunday

Related titles