> Skip to content
  • Published: 19 June 2017
  • ISBN: 9780141378664
  • Imprint: Penguin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 528
  • RRP: $17.99

Checkmate




Perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale and The Power, Checkmate is the incredible third novel in iconic author Malorie Blackman's ground-breaking four-part YA series, Noughts & Crosses.

'Another emotional hard-hitter' Sunday Times

My name is Callie Rose.
My mum is a Cross - one of the so-called ruling elite.
My dad was a Nought. My dad was a murderer. My dad was a terrorist.

Sixteen years have passed since Sephy Hadley first met Callum McGregor - and the hate that divided them turned to hope. But the world hasn't changed quickly enough for their daughter, Callie Rose. Growing up dual heritage in a world where bitter prejudice divides Noughts and Crosses has meant she's an outsider wherever she turns.

Enter Jude McGregor. Jude teaches Callie about her real family history, and the more she learns the more he persuades her where her loyalties really lie. But soon Callie is caught in a trap she can't get out of - one which will have deadly consequences.

Voted as one of the UK's best-loved books, Malorie Blackman's Noughts & Crosses series is a seminal piece of YA fiction; a true modern classic.

'Dramatic, intensely moving' Carousel

  • Published: 19 June 2017
  • ISBN: 9780141378664
  • Imprint: Penguin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 528
  • RRP: $17.99

About the author

Malorie Blackman

Malorie Blackman has written over seventy books for children and young adults, including the Noughts & Crosses series, Thief and a science-fiction thriller, Chasing the Stars. Many of her books have also been adapted for stage and television, including a BAFTA-award-winning BBC production of Pig-Heart Boy and a Pilot Theatre stage adaptation by Sabrina Mahfouz of Noughts & Crosses. There is also a major BBC production of Noughts & Crosses, with Roc Nation (Jay-Z’s entertainment company) curating the soundtrack as executive music producer. In 2005 Malorie was honoured with the Eleanor Farjeon Award in recognition of her distinguished contribution to the world of children’s books. In 2008 she received an OBE for her services to children’s literature, and between 2013 and 2015 she was the Children’s Laureate. Most recently Malorie wrote for the Doctor Who series on BBC One, and the fifth novel in her Noughts & Crosses series, Crossfire, was published by Penguin Random House Children’s in summer 2019.

Also by Malorie Blackman

See all

Related titles