> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 4 October 2012
  • ISBN: 9781448150946
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 80

Blandings: Pig-Hoo-o-o-o-ey!

(Episode 1)

Formats & editions

Clarence has to get his pig eating again or lose the fat-pig prize to his arch nemesis.

Lord Clarence Emsworth’s pride and joy, the prize-winning pig Empress of Blandings refuses to eat when Cyril the pig-man is jailed by Clarence’s conniving rival Sir Gregory Parsloe-Parsloe.

With the prize’s weigh-in only two-weeks away, Clarence and his gambling, spendthrift son Freddie are desperate to get the Empress to eat.

Meanwhile, Clarence’s sister Connie attempts to thwart her niece Angela’s love affair with ex-cowboy Jimmy and instead find her a more eminent match in the smarmy Heacham – Sir Gregory’s nephew!

'Sublime comic genius'
Ben Elton

'You don't analyse such sunlit perfection, you just bask in its warmth and splendour.'
Stephen Fry

'The funniest writer ever to put words to paper.'
Hugh Laurie

'P.G. Wodehouse remains the greatest chronicler of a certain kind of Englishness, that no one else has ever captured quite so sharply, or with quite as much wit and affection.'
Julian Fellowes

  • Pub date: 4 October 2012
  • ISBN: 9781448150946
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 80

About the Author

P.G. Wodehouse

Pelham Grenville Wodehouse (always known as ‘Plum’) wrote about seventy novels and some three hundred short stories over 73 years. He is widely recognised as the greatest 20th-century writer of humour in the English language.

Perhaps best known for the escapades of Bertie Wooster and Jeeves, Wodehouse also created the world of Blandings Castle, home to Lord Emsworth and his cherished pig, the Empress of Blandings. His stories include gems concerning the irrepressible and disreputable Ukridge; Psmith, the elegant socialist; the ever-so-slightly-unscrupulous Fifth Earl of Ickenham, better known as Uncle Fred; and those related by Mr Mulliner, the charming raconteur of The Angler’s Rest, and the Oldest Member at the Golf Club.

In 1936 he was awarded the Mark Twain Prize for ‘having made an outstanding and lasting contribution to the happiness of the world’. He was made a Doctor of Letters by Oxford University in 1939 and in 1975, aged 93, he was knighted by Queen Elizabeth II. He died shortly afterwards, on St Valentine’s Day.

Also by P.G. Wodehouse

See all

Related titles