> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 2 April 2007
  • ISBN: 9780099498483
  • Imprint: Arrow
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 448
  • RRP: $14.99


Formats & editions

A Sunday Times no.2 bestseller: the powerful memoir from the winner of Richard and Judy's TRUE competition

The heartbreaking true story of an unimaginable betrayal.
For the first six years of her life, Sarah Harris was a happy and popular little girl. Until she became the target of a dangerous but invisible enemy - and her life became a living hell. Before long she was suspended from school, alienated from her friends, and terrified of herself.
For her mother, Lyndsey, it was a life beyond her worst nightmares. The daughter she loved so much seemed to have transformed overnight into a child she was almost scared of. Her little girl was doing the unthinkable: stealing razor blades, attempting to poison her friends, even accusing her parents of sexual abuse.
Soon Lyndsey's marriage was on the verge of collapse, social services stepped in, and Lyndsey was fighting to keep her family together – and to save her daughter's sanity. But worse was to come as Lyndsey discovered her family had been victims of the most hurtful betrayal of all...

  • Pub date: 2 April 2007
  • ISBN: 9780099498483
  • Imprint: Arrow
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 448
  • RRP: $14.99

About the Authors

Lyndsey Harris

Lyndsey Harris is a pseudonym. All names have been changed to protect the privacy of Lyndsey's daughter.

Andrew Crofts

Tom Wilson was placed in the care of the Scottish social services at just 10 months old. It wasn't until he was 45 that he first spoke about the terrible attrocities he endured during the six years he was at St Margaret's Children's Home in Fife. Tom Wilson is married and his brother is the world famous darts player, Jocky Wilson.
Andrew Crofts has been a freelance writer and author for over thirty years and his ghostwritten works include several Sunday Times number one bestsellers. Other inspirational memoirs he has ghosted include Betrayed by Lyndsey Harris, Shattered by Mavis Marsh, Sold by Zana Mushen, The Little Prisoner by Jane Elliott, The Kid by Kevin Lewis, Please Daddy, No by Stuart Howarth, For a House Made of Stone by Gina French, My Family is All I Have by Helen-Alice Dear, Pete - My Story by Pete Bennett and Just a Boy by Richard McCann. He is also the author of The Freelance Writer's Handbook.

Praise for Betrayed

“A really shocking story...deeply disturbing”

Judy Finnigan

“Beautifully told...a good read”

Richard Madeley

“extraordinary...an uplifting testament to how a family can survive a nightmare that came so close to breaking them.”

Daily Express

“Unbearably sad but ultimately uplifting”


“This is an almost unbelievable story about malice, childhood suffering and a parent's worst nightmare.”

Richard Madeley

“a shocking story”

The Woodford Green Bookclub on the Richard & Judy programme

Related titles