> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 30 May 2012
  • ISBN: 9781448101122
  • Imprint: RHCP Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 224

Barnaby Grimes: Return of the Emerald Skull




The second in this thrilling, breathtaking series full of intrigue and horror. Perfect for fans of The Edge Chronicles.

Barnaby Grimes is a tick-tock lad, running errands in his city, day and night, and high-stacking around the rooftops in search of new mysteries to solve. A fantastic romp through a Dickensian-style city, with a wonderful new hero in the guise of Barnaby.

After collecting a strange parcel from a deserted ship in the fog of the docks, and delivering it to the local schoolmaster, Barnaby thinks he's earned a moment to sit on the rooftops and eat his favourite pasty. But soon he realises that all is not well at the school - but is the problem quite as he expects it? A gruesome tale of a school overrun by a terrible curse - who will survive?

  • Pub date: 30 May 2012
  • ISBN: 9781448101122
  • Imprint: RHCP Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 224

About the Authors

Paul Stewart

Paul Stewart is a highly regarded author of books for young readers - everything from picture books to football stories, fantasy and horror. Together with Chris Riddell, he is co-creator of the bestselling Edge Chronicles series, which has sold over three million books and is now available in over thirty languages. They are also co-creators of the Far-Flung Adventure series, which includes Fergus Crane, Gold Smarties Prize Winner, Corby Flood and Hugo Pepper, Silver Nestle Prize Winners, and the Barnaby Grimes Series.

Chris Riddell

Chris Riddell is an acclaimed artist of children’s books and a political cartoonist for the Observer. Amongst other titles, Chris illustrates the Ottoline young fiction series and the Goth Girl series, as well as working closely with Paul Stewart on the Edge Chronicles and Wyrmeweald. Children's Laureate from 2015-2017, he has won many awards for his work, including the Nestlé Gold Award, the UNESCO Award for Something Else and the rare honour of three Kate Greenaway Medals.


Praise for Barnaby Grimes: Return of the Emerald Skull

“...pace is breathless and Riddell's illustrations are stunning.”

Irish Times

“This is an engaging, nail-biter of a thriller, greatly enhanced by Riddell's atmospheric illustrations.”

Irish Examiner


Related titles