> Skip to content
  • Published: 30 July 2024
  • ISBN: 9781761349447
  • Imprint: Penguin Random House Australia Audio
  • Format: Audio Download
  • Narrator: Caroline Lee
  • RRP: $34.99

Back To Birdsville

An outback rural romance, from the bestselling author of As the River Rises




The heart-warming new rural romance from the bestselling author of As the River Rises.

Birdsville, outback Queensland: the most remote town in the world, population 110. What the people lack in numbers they make up for in community spirit.

When midwife and emergency nurse Phoebe McFadden fled her family dramas at age sixteen, she thought she’d left Birdsville for good. But when her cousin Scarlet asks her to be bridesmaid in her wedding party, Phoebe knows it’s time to make her way home … and face the past.

As Phoebe settles back into town, she keeps crossing paths with Atticus Bow, the latest Birdsville cop – no longer the skinny kid she remembers but an irresistible man she does not want to be attracted to. The last thing she needs is to become attached to this place again, but as she starts to let Birdsville – and its people – back into her heart, she discovers secrets that have remained locked away for far too long. Can she right the wrongs of the past before Scarlet’s special day?

Capturing all the colour and heart of the famous Birdsville races, this uniquely Australian romance celebrates women who are always there for each other, the caring side of men, and the challenges and optimism of remote families. Ideal for fans of Karly Lane and Mandy Magro.

  • Published: 30 July 2024
  • ISBN: 9781761349447
  • Imprint: Penguin Random House Australia Audio
  • Format: Audio Download
  • Narrator: Caroline Lee
  • RRP: $34.99

About the author

Fiona McArthur

Drawing from her earlier life as a rural midwife, Fiona McArthur shares her love of working with women, families and health professionals in her books. In her compassionate, pacey fiction, her love of the Australian landscape meshes beautifully with warm, funny, multigenerational characters as she highlights challenges for rural and remote families, and the strength shared between women. Happy endings are a must.
Fiona is the author of the non-fiction book Aussie Midwives, and lives on a farm with her husband in northern New South Wales. She was awarded the NSW Excellence in Midwifery Award in 2015 and the Australian Ruby Award for Contemporary Romantic Fiction in 2020, and was shortlisted for the same award in 2023.
Find her at FionaMcArthurAuthor.com

Also by Fiona McArthur

See all