> Skip to content
  • Published: 15 January 2017
  • ISBN: 9780451468093
  • Imprint: Nal
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 384
  • RRP: $29.99
Categories:

Abandoned In Hell



An astonishing memoir of military courage at a remote outpost during the Vietnam War—includes a foreword by Joseph L. Galloway, New York Times bestselling coauthor of We Were Soldiers Once...and Young. In October 1969, William Albracht, the youngest Green Beret captain in Vietnam, took command of a remote hilltop outpost called Firebase Kate held by only 27 American soldiers and 156 Montagnard militiamen. At dawn the next morning, three North Vietnamese Army regiments—some six thousand men—crossed the Cambodian border and attacked. Outnumbered three dozen to one, Albracht’s men held off the assault but, after five days, Kate’s defenders were out of ammo and water. Refusing to die  or surrender, Albracht led his troops off the hill and on a daring night march through enemy lines.Abandoned in Hell is an astonishing memoir of leadership, sacrifice, and brutal violence, a riveting journey into Vietnam’s heart of darkness, and a compelling reminder of the transformational power of individual heroism. Not since Lone Survivor and We Were Soldiers Once...and Young has there been such a gripping and authentic account of battlefield courage. INCLUDES PHOTOS

  • Published: 15 January 2017
  • ISBN: 9780451468093
  • Imprint: Nal
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 384
  • RRP: $29.99
Categories:

Praise for Abandoned In Hell

“An epic tale of junior officers and NCOs salvaging a clusterf**k with minimum losses and maximum damage to the enemy. Nasty war. Great book.”—Jim Morris, author of War Story and Above and Beyond   “A riveting, dead-true account in the tradition of Black Hawk Down and We Were Soldiers Once ... and Young.”—Steven Pressfield, national bestselling author of The Lion’s Gate   “Abandoned in Hell is essential reading about the brave men who lived and died fighting an unpopular war.”—David Hume Kennerly, winner of the 1972 Pulitzer Prize for Feature Photography  

Related titles