> Skip to content
A Whisper To The Living
  • Published: 30 June 2011
  • ISBN: 9781446465677
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 416
Categories:

A Whisper To The Living

A moving and enthralling saga set in Bolton from bestselling author Ruth Hamilton



Two very different men help a young girl fight the legacy of her childhood and grow into a strong, beautiful woman.

An emotional and heart-warming saga set in the Lancashire cotton mills from The Sunday Times bestseller Ruth Hamilton, perfect for fans of Catherine Cookson."Very much the successor to Catherine Cookson. Her books are plot driven, they just rip along; laughs, weeps, love, they've got the lot, and they're quality writing as well" - Sarah Broadhurst on Radio Four. "I love this woman's ability to draw me into a story where I can relate to the time and events in most of her tales." -- ***** Reader review"Excellent. Could not put book down. Ruth Hamilton is a brilliant writer." -- ***** Reader review"This is one book I will be keeping on my bookshelf to read again..." -- ***** Reader review***********************************

WILL HER FORTUNE EVER CHANGE?

1940. Lancashire. Annie Byrne is born during one of the toughest winters ever remembered. It's a fitting start to a life which will turn out to be full of trials and hardships.

When her father dies during the war, her mother Nancy - a spinner in a cotton mill - marries Eddie Higson: a nightmare of a man who delights in tormenting the young Annie with one secret evil after another.

The years pass and Annie determines to fight the legacy of her childhood. Can she do this on her own and will her fortune ever change?

  • Published: 30 June 2011
  • ISBN: 9781446465677
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 416
Categories:

About the author

Ruth Hamilton

Ruth Hamilton became one of the north-west of England's most popular writers, her bestselling books include With Love From Ma Maguire, A Crooked Mile and Dorothy’s War. Ruth Hamilton was born in Bolton, which is the setting for many of her novels, and spent most of her life in Lancashire before moving to Liverpool. She died in 2016.

Also by Ruth Hamilton

See all

Related titles