> Skip to content
  • Published: 5 November 2020
  • ISBN: 9781473580893
  • Imprint: Vintage Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 336

A Christmas Murder




Downton Abbey meets Poirot in this Christmas murder mystery, perfect for fans of Gladys Mitchell and the British Library crime classics

It's Christmas at Westbury Manor and amateur detective Hugh Gaveston must unravel a fiendish mystery...

Christmas Eve, 1938. The Westbury family and assorted friends have gathered for another legendary celebration at their beautiful country house. The champagne flows, the silverware sparkles and upstairs the rooms are ready for their occupants.

But one bed will lie empty that night. On Christmas morning, David Campbell-Scott is found dead in the snow. There's a pistol beside him and only one set of footprints.

Yet something doesn't seem right to amateur sleuth Hugh Gaveston. Campbell-Scott had just returned from overseas with untold wealth - why would he kill himself? Hugh sets out to investigate...

Wonderfully atmospheric, with charming wit and brilliant plotting, Murder Most Festive is perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, M.C. Beaton and James Runcie's Grantchester series.

  • Published: 5 November 2020
  • ISBN: 9781473580893
  • Imprint: Vintage Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 336

About the author

Ada Moncrieff

Ada Moncrieff was born in London and has lived in Madrid and Paris. She studied English at Cambridge University, and has worked in theatre, publishing and as a teacher. A Christmas Murder is her first novel.

Related titles