> Skip to content

Book clubs  •  31 January 2022

 

The Herd book club notes

A standout book club novel. Unputdownable and thought-provoking.

Elizabeth and Bryony are polar opposites but their unexpected friendship has always worked. They're the best of friends, and godmothers to each other's daughters – because they trust that the safety of their children is both of their top priority.

But what if their choice could harm your own child?

The Herd probes the fine line between individual choice and collective responsibility, making it a perfect book to discuss with your book club.

Discussion points and questions:

  • The Herd follows Elizabeth and Bryony – two women with very different viewpoints and perspectives. Did you identify more with one character than the other? Why?
  • Think about the events leading up to the birthday party. Could the drama that develops from that moment have been prevented? Which characters are to blame for the way in which the tragedy unfolds?
  • Discuss the theme of responsibility in the novel. Do you think the characters are justified in acting in the way they do? Would you have made the same choices had you been in their place?
  • Were there any moments you found unexpected or shocking?
  • Think about the perspectives we are shown from people in and around the courtroom. How did these voices affect your reading of the novel? Did they make you consider any points of view different to your own?
  • Were you surprised by how the final chapters played out? While you were reading, did you have any different ideas for how the novel might end?

The Herd Emily Edwards

A STANDOUT BOOK CLUB NOVEL. Unputdownable and thought-provoking, THE HERD probes the fine line between individual choice and collective responsibility. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Liane Moriarty and THE SLAP.

Buy now
Buy now

More features

See all
Book clubs
The Last Station book club notes

An unputdownable Australian novel to read with your book club.

Q&A
How author abandons classic notions of the afterlife in Here Goes Nothing

Steve Toltz shares his inspiration for the afterlife, how he freed his characters from technology, and how he envisioned a near-future world in his new novel, Here Goes Nothing.

Q&A
The questioning of faith that led author to write his debut novel

Ashley Goldberg talks favourite scenes, lived experience, and the real-life events that inspired his debut novel, Abomination.

Article
Nicole Alexander details river-trade history that inspired new book

The Last Station introduces us to a once-prosperous family facing ruin and a paddle-steamer captain clinging to a dying world.

Article
QUIZ: How well do you know The Great Gatsby?

Celebrate the anniversary of The Great Gatsby by putting your knowledge to the test with our newest quiz!

Q&A
The infuriating meeting that pushed author to write novel

Bonnie Garmus was seething when she got back to her desk after a work meeting. It was then she began writing Lessons in Chemistry.

Article
Meet the family at the centre of our must-have whodunnit

The Cunninghams don't really get along, and every one of them has killed someone. Meet the family to help you find the culprit.

Article
Our top Easter long weekend reading picks

Looking to escape into a book this Easter long weekend? Here are our recommendations to truly help you unwind.

Article
The books behind the BAFTA award wins

Find out more about our books that are behind this year's British Academy Film Award winners.

Q&A
Author's bizarre Google search while writing new book

Benjamin Stevenson talks to us about his new must-have mystery and his friend's odd act that inspired his book.

Article
Meet our fearless female heroines

These female characters are brave, stand up for their beliefs and aren't afraid to break the status quo. 

News
Netflix film inspired by The Power of the Dog leads Oscar nominations

The movie based on Thomas Savage's dark poetic tale has received 12 Academy Award nominations.

Looking for more book club notes?

See all book club notes