> Skip to content

Since winning the Catherine Cookson Prize for Fiction for her first novel, The Hungry Tide, Val Wood has become one of the most popular authors in the UK.

Born in the mining town of Castleford, Val came to East Yorkshire as a child and has lived in Hull and rural Holderness where many of her novels are set. She now lives in the market town of Beverley.

When she is not writing, Val is busy promoting libraries and supporting many charities. In 2017 she was awarded an honorary doctorate by the University of Hull for service and dedication to literature.

Find out more about Val Wood's novels by visiting her website: www.valeriewood.co.uk

Books by Val Wood

A Place to Call Home
A Mother's Choice
No Place for a Woman
Little Girl Lost
Every Mother's Son
His Brother's Wife
The Maid's Secret
The Innkeeper's Daughter
Going Home
The Harbour Girl
The Gypsy Girl
The Kitchen Maid
Far From Home
The Hungry Tide
Children Of The Tide
Homecoming Girls
Rich Girl, Poor Girl
The Long Walk Home
Fallen Angels
Nobody's Child
The Songbird
The Doorstep Girls