> Skip to content
NA

Nazir Afzal OBE is former a Chief Crown Prosecutor and was Chief Executive of the UK’s Police & Crime Commissioners. During a 24-year career, Nazir prosecuted some of the most high profile cases in the country and advised on many others, with a special focus on domestic violence, child sexual abuse, and honour-based violence. He worked personally on the most high-profile cases whilst simultaneously overseeing the thousands of prosecutions each year, and is particularly notable for his prosecution of the so called Rochdale sex grooming gang. Today he sits on the board of the Independent Press Standards Organisation (IPSO) and is also National Adviser on Gender Based Violence to the Welsh Government. In 2018 he joined the advisory board of Google’s Innovation Fund for counter-extremism.

Books by Nazir Afzal

The Prosecutor

The compelling memoir of the man who has brought Britain's most dangerous criminals to justice, for fans of The Secret Barrister and In Your Defence.

Read more