> Skip to content

Low Ying Ping

Book for an event

Low Ying Ping is the author of the Mount Emily novels, a middle grade/youngadult fantasy series featuring time travel and friendship. The first book, Mount Emily, was shortlisted for the Hedwig Anuar Children's Book Award 2018 and the second book, Mount Emily Revisited, won the Singapore Book Awards 2017 in the Middle Grade/Young Adult category. Three of the books have also been
shortlisted for Singapore's Popular Readers' Choice Awards. Mount Emily was also selected for inclusion in the National Arts Council of Singapore's Read Our
World: SingLit Book Gift for Schools.
She has also written an English adaptation of the Chinese classic, Journey to the West, for children aged 7-10 years old. Her short story, 'The Age When Magic Begins', won second prize in the British Fantasy Society's short story competition 2018. Her poems and critical essay have appeared in Singa, the journal of the National University of Singapore Centre for the Arts and QLRS (Quarterly Literary Review Singapore). She holds a Master's degree in English Literature from the University of Warwick, UK.

Books by Low Ying Ping

Prophecy of the Underworld

Filled with wacky humour and surprising twists and turns, this spoof of hero-adventure narratives follows a misguided hero and his three friends on a hilarious romp through a parallel world in a quest to save their own from destruction.

Read more