> Skip to content

Jay Rubin is the author of Injurious to Public Morals: Writers and the Meiji State and Making Sense of Japanese, and he edited Modern Japanese Writers for the Scribner Writers Series. He has translated into English two novels by the Japanese writer Soseki Natsume, and also Haruki Murakami's Norwegian Wood, The Wind-up Bird Chronicle and after the quake.

Books by Jay Rubin

The Penguin Book of Japanese Short Stories

A major anthology of great Japanese short stories, now in Penguin Classics

Read more
Haruki Murakami and the Music of Words

Essential reading for any fan of Murakami's work.

Read more