> Skip to content

James Aitcheson

Book for an event

James Aitcheson was born in Wiltshire and studied History at Emmanuel College, Cambridge, where he developed a special interest in the Middle Ages. He is particularly interested in the Anglo-Saxon period and the Norman Conquest, a time of tremendous change that proved to be one of the biggest turning points in English history. Sworn Sword is his first novel, and the first in his Conquest series. Set three years after the Battle of Hastings, it tells the story of the great English rebellion as seen through the eyes of one of the invaders, an ambitious and oath-sworn knight named Tancred. The sequel,The Splintered Kingdom, picks up Tancred’s tale one year later as the Normans’ grip on England is tested to breaking point. Knights of the Hawk sees Tancred and his allies venturing beyond English shores for the first time.

Books by James Aitcheson

Knights of the Hawk

The third novel in the compelling Conquest series (1066: The Bloody Aftermath) from the author of Sworn Sword. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwall, Simon Scarrow and Ben Kane.

Read more
The Splintered Kingdom

The brilliant second novel featuring the hero of SWORN SWORD - Tancred.

Read more
Sworn Sword

An ambitious young Norman soldier fights against desperate odds to consolidate the conquest of England in the years after the Battle of Hastings. Brilliant first novel in the mould of REQUIEM by Robyn Young.

Read more