> Skip to content
Helen Mort
Photo Credit: (C) Jan Bella

Helen Mort was born in Sheffield in 1985, and grew up in nearby Chesterfield. Five times winner of the Foyle Young Poets Award, she received an Eric Gregory Award in 2007 and won the Manchester Young Writer Prize in 2008. Her first collection, Division Street (2013), was shortlisted for the T.S. Eliot Prize and Costa Poetry Award, and won the Fenton Aldeburgh First Collection Prize. In 2014, she was named as a ‘Next Generation Poet’, the prestigious accolade announced only once every ten years, recognising the 20 most exciting new poets from the UK and Ireland. No Map Could Show Them (2016), her second collection, about women and mountaineering, was a Poetry Book Society Recommendation. Helen has been the Wordsworth Trust Poet in Residence and the Derbyshire Poet Laureate and was named one of the RSL’s 40 under 40 Fellows in 2018. She is a Lecturer in Creative Writing at Manchester Metropolitan University and lives in Sheffield. Black Car Burning is her first novel.

Books by Helen Mort

Black Car Burning

The debut novel from the brilliant and award-winning poet Helen Mort

Read more
No Map Could Show Them

The brilliant second collection from Next Generation Poet, T.S. Eliot and Costa shortlisted poet, Helen Mort

Read more
Division Street

*WINNER OF THE FENTON ALDEBURGH FIRST COLLECTION PRIZE 2014**SHORTLISTED FOR THE T.S. ELIOT PRIZE 2013* *SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA POETRY AWARD 2013*The much-anticipated debut collection from award-winning poet and rising star, Helen Mort

Read more