> Skip to content

Edward Blishen

Book for an event

Leon Garfield was born in Brighton in 1921. He was the acclaimed author of more than thirty novels for children and adults including Devil in the Fog, winner of the inaugural Guardian Children’s Fiction Prize in 1967, The God Beneath the Sea, winner of the 1970 Carnegie Medal, and John Diamond, winner of the 1980 Whitbread literary award. He was also elected a member of the Royal Society of Literature. He died in 1996.

Books by Edward Blishen

God Beneath The Sea

Leon Garfield and Edward Blishen retell some of the most famous Greek myths in this classic of children's literature. Winner of the Carnegie Medal.

Read more
The Golden Shadow

A story of the gods, from the creaters of The God Beneath the Sea.

Read more