> Skip to content

Curt Sampson

Book for an event

Steve Elkington has won the best and biggest tournaments in golf: the NCAA (twice with the University of Houston); the Tournament of Champions (twice); the Players Championship (again, twice); and the PGA Championship. In 1995 he won the Vardon Trophy for lowest stroke average on the Tour, averaging 69.62 for the entire year.

Curt Sampson, himself a former club and touring professional, has written five other books, including Hogan and The Masters.

Books by Curt Sampson

The War by the Shore: The Incomparable Drama of the 1991 Ryder Cup

The War by the Shore is a hypnotic and deeply entertaining retelling of that long weekend in South Carolina when golf lost its manners, emotions redlined, and character was revealed.  No other golf tournament - and few events in the history of sport - have approached the incredible theater of the war by the shore.

Read more