> Skip to content

Catherine Bateson writes poetry, verse novels and novels for both younger readers and young adults. She has won the CBCA Book of the Year for Younger Readers twice - with Rain May and Captain Daniel, 2003, and Being Bee, 2006. Rain May and Captain Daniel also won the Queensland Premier's Literary Award. Three of her other novels, The Wish Pony, Painted Love Letters and Millie and the Night Heron were CBCA Honour Books. Millie and the Night Heron was shortlisted for the YABBA and the KOALA Children's Choice awards, 2007. Her first book for Woolshed Press was the critically acclaimed The Wish Pony, which was an Honour Book in the 2009 CBCA Book of the Year awards.

Books by Catherine Bateson

The Wish Pony
Mimi And The Blue Slave
Magenta McPhee
Being Bee
His Name in Fire
Millie & The Night Heron
The Air Dancer of Glass
Painted Love Letters
The Year It All Happened
A Dangerous Girl