> Skip to content
  • Published: 25 June 2024
  • ISBN: 9780857506696
  • Imprint: Bantam
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 320
  • RRP: $34.99

We Used to Live Here




The Turn of the Key meets Parasite in this eerily haunting debut and Reddit hit—soon to be a Netflix original movie starring Blake Lively—about two homeowners whose lives are turned upside down when the house’s previous residents unexpectedly visit.

You let them back in.
You shouldn't have...

Young couple Charlie and Eve can’t believe the killer deal they got on an old house in a beautiful yet remote neighbourhood nestled deep in the mountains. One day, a man knocks on the door. He claims to have lived in the house years before and asks if he can show his family around. People pleaser to a fault, Eve lets them in.

As soon as they enter, strange things start to happen, and Eve wants nothing more than for them to leave and never come back. But they can’t – or won’t – take the hint that they are no longer welcome.

Then Charlie suddenly vanishes, and Eve begins to lose her grip on reality. She’s convinced there’s something terribly wrong with the house and its past inhabitants . . . or is it all in her head?

The Turn of the Key meets Parasite in this gripping, eerily haunting debut and Reddit hit – soon to be a Netflix original movie starring Blake Lively – that will keep you up into the early hours. Perfect for fans of Stephen King and Leave the World Behind.

  • Published: 25 June 2024
  • ISBN: 9780857506696
  • Imprint: Bantam
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 320
  • RRP: $34.99

About the author

Marcus Kliewer

Marcus Kliewer is a writer and stop-motion animator. He lives in Vancouver, Canada.

Praise for We Used to Live Here

Inventive and genuinely scary, We Used to Live Here is the most impressive horror debut I've read in a long time. Marcus Kliewer is a talent to watch.

Alma Katsu, author of The Fervor

There is a feeling that a small number of books conjure. It can be distilled to: Oh god, something ain’t right here. Their hallmark is a creeping, unaccountable, jangly dread that seeps into their pages until you almost wish you could stop reading—but of course, it’s too late. You’re in its grip. We Used to Live Here is one of those rare books.

Nick Cutter, bestselling author of The Troop

A devilish debut. What begins as mildly uncomfortable grows full-tilt terrifying. Stringing the whole thing together is Kliewer’s gift for atmosphere and wicked sense of humor. This is a winner.

Publisher's Weekly

This book is like quicksand: the further you delve into its pages, the more immobilized you become by the spiral of terror that takes over you when you know nothing seems what it is... Is a family really a family? Can a house be something else? We Used to Live Here is going to haunt you even after you have finished it. This is what I call a great book.

Agustina Bazterrica, author of Tender Is the Flesh

Mysterious guests overstay their welcome in this fresh take on the haunted house trope. Fans of the surging horror genre will think twice about opening the door when somebody knocks. Original and extremely scary… A frighteningly good debut.

Kirkus

Kliewer’s debut is an atmospheric nightmare in all the best ways. The pace is pulse-pounding, but the horror aspects are deliciously dragged out. This is recommended for fans of intricately plotted psychological novels, such as those by Stephen King, Ruth Ware and Sarah Pinborough.

Booklist

The story is absolutely gripping and reminds readers of the dread from Get Out.

United By Pop