> Skip to content
  • Published: 4 July 2023
  • ISBN: 9780241614648
  • Imprint: Penguin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 352
  • RRP: $19.99

Threads That Bind



Filled with mystery, betrayal and powerful, simmering romance, and inspired by Greek mythology, Kika Hatzopoulou's electrifying, genre-defying debut is perfect for fans of Alexandra Bracken's Lore and Chloe Gong's These Violent Delights.

In the city of Alante, the descendants of the Greek gods live alongside mortals.

Io is the youngest of three sisters, descended from the Fates. She is able to see threads: shimmering silver lines connecting every person. When a new relationship is formed, a new thread appears. When a person's life-thread is cut, it's their time to die. Io uses her gifts as a private investigator, trying to make ends meet in a world which treats other-born people like her with suspicion and prejudice.

Then Io is witness to a murder - but this is no ordinary murder. Io can clearly see that the killer's life-thread has already been severed. This woman should be long dead.

More complicated still, there is another witness: Edei, a member of the Rossi mob - the gangsters who rule Alante. And what Io can see immediately, although Edei cannot, is that there is a bright silver fate-thread connecting them. This boy is her destiny...

  • Published: 4 July 2023
  • ISBN: 9780241614648
  • Imprint: Penguin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 352
  • RRP: $19.99

Also by Kika Hatzopoulou

See all

Praise for Threads That Bind

Dripping with atmosphere and edged with danger, Threads That Bind weaves together a gorgeous dark tapestry of mystery, fated romance, and modern myth. You won't be able to put this one down

Alexandra Bracken, bestselling author of Lore

Irresistible . . . Seamlessly weaving together magic, mythology and mystery, Threads That Bind launches readers into a stunningly imagined world that will stay with you long after you've turned the final page

Claire M Andrews, bestselling author of Daughter of Sparta

Riveting and electrifying! In a world where the descendants of the Greek gods inherit enthralling supernatural powers, Kika Hatzopoulou weaves a gripping mystery full of secrets, murder, and betrayal. I was utterly ensnared to the last page

Leslie Vedder, bestselling author of the Bone Spindle trilogy

Utterly riveting from start to finish . . . Expertly weaves familiar threads of murder, fated lovers, feuding sisters, and ancient myths into a fresh, modern tapestry, one that gleams as bright as the threads of fate Io uses to navigate the sunken city of Alante. A story and heroine I won't soon forget

Amanda Joy, author of A River of Royal Blood

Threads That Bind is a thrilling magical twist on the murder mystery. From rooftop bridges and flooded city streets to rundown apartments and glitzy gang clubs, Alante is a city where survival is paramount and nothing is simple. This is exactly the kind of story I've been craving

Nicki Pau Preto, author of the Crown of Feathers trilogy

A flooded city full of magic and secrets, fallen gods, a thrilling mystery, and a heartfelt examination of the complex bonds of sisterhood. One of the most original and enjoyable debuts I've read

Lyndall Clipstone, author of Unholy Terrors

Discover more

Article
8 new and upcoming fantasy novels you won’t want to miss

We’ve found them for you: the 8 fantasy novels you simply need to add to your TBR!