> Skip to content
  • Published: 31 August 2021
  • ISBN: 9781529100839
  • Imprint: Del Rey
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 528
  • RRP: $32.99
Categories:

The Winter Garden




For readers of THE TOYMAKERS and THE WATCHMAKER OF FILIGREE STREET, a dark magical novel set in the world of Victorian pleasure gardens from an acclaimed writer.

_____________________
Welcome to the Winter Gardens of Half Moon House. Please do not mishandle the exhibits. (The owners accept no liability for any events that occur, magical or otherwise...)

The Winter Garden open at the stroke of midnight with no great fanfare - after all, this is a time when all virtuous folk should be in bed. But for the few curious souls that brave the opening of its gates what enchantments await.

There is all manner of strange and spectacular flora and fauna collected on her travels by the scandalous Lady Beatrice Sitwell and exhibited for the delight of paying customers. By flickering lamplight, visitors can discover magic fish, spectacular ghost butterflies, and a tiger made of stars.

And for the very brave - and a small extra cost - there is the forest of plum trees, ripening against the snow bearing magical fruit which can tell your fortune - if only you dare take a bite...

  • Published: 31 August 2021
  • ISBN: 9781529100839
  • Imprint: Del Rey
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 528
  • RRP: $32.99
Categories:

About the author

Alex Bell

Alex Bell always wanted to be a writer but had several different back-up plans to ensure she didn’t end up in the poor house first. For some years these ranged from dolphin trainer to animal shelter vet but then, at fifteen, she had an epiphany involving John and Robert Kennedy and decided to become a lawyer instead.

To that end she eagerly started a Law Degree only to find it so boring that she was at a very real risk of going completely insane. To mitigate this she started writing again. Now she happily dwells in an entirely make-believe world of blood, death, madness, murder and mayhem. The doctors have advised that it is best not to disturb her, for she appears to be happy there.

Praise for The Winter Garden

A mesmerising, stunningly crafted story of loss and the importance of dreams

Waterstones

Related titles