> Skip to content
  • Published: 2 July 2021
  • ISBN: 9780241346327
  • Imprint: Penguin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 384
  • RRP: $16.99

The Things We Don't See



A brand new, page-turning thriller meets detective story from online sensation Savannah Brown, perfect for fans of Holly Jackson and Lisa Jewell.

"The year is 1987 and the sleepy village of Sandown Bay is waking up . . ."

To its residents, Sandown is home - a tiny village holiday resort in the western United States.

To everyone else, it's a minuscule island, that brings tourists in summer and not a lot else the rest of the time.

To Mona Perry, it's a mystery.

Thirty-four years ago, promising singer and Sandown resident Roxy Raines went missing, and was never found. The people of the island are still reluctant to talk about it, claiming Roxy was simply a runaway, but the evidence doesn't quite add up.

Mona is convinced something else is going on. Armed only with a suitcase and a microphone - to record her findings for the general public - this runaway teenager is determined to get to the bottom of the disappearance.

But as Mona gets drawn deeper and deeper into the strange goings on of this isolated community, it is clear that nothing is as it seems - not even Mona's own past.

Some things are meant to disappear . . .

  • Published: 2 July 2021
  • ISBN: 9780241346327
  • Imprint: Penguin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 384
  • RRP: $16.99

About the author

Savannah Brown

Savannah Brown is an American author and poet currently residing in London, England. In 2016, she self-published her bestselling collection of poetry titled Graffiti (and Other Poems), which won a Goodreads Choice Award.

Also by Savannah Brown

See all

Praise for The Things We Don't See

A beautifully written mystery with a host of fascinating characters, Savannah Brown's new book explores loss - on both the people and the places left behind - and comments on our fascination with true crime in a fresh and thought-provoking way.

Vincent Ralph, author of Are You Watching?

A propulsive mystery driven by beautifully raw narration, The Things We Don't See is an honest look at the cost of moving on. Brown's prose reads like a live wire.

Rory Power, author of Wilder Girls

Fast- paced, character-driven and completely addictive. The perfect YA mystery.

Dubray Books

Related titles