> Skip to content
  • Published: 29 March 2022
  • ISBN: 9781496736246
  • Imprint: Kensington
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 304
  • RRP: $27.99

The Spanish Daughter



Set against the lush backdrop of early twentieth century Ecuador and inspired by the real-life history of the coastal town known as the birthplace of cacao, this captivating #OwnVoices novel from the award-winning author of The Sisters of Alameda Street tells the story of a resourceful young chocolatier who must impersonate a man in order to claim her birthright...

“An engrossing, suspenseful family saga filled with unpredictable twists and turns.” —Chanel Cleeton, New York Times bestselling author of Next Year in Havana

“A lushly written story of bittersweet family secrets and betrayals.” —Andrea Penrose, author of Murder at the Royal Botanic Gardens

Perfect for fans of Julia Alvarez and Silvia Moreno-Garcia, this riveting novel takes you inside the real-life history of early twentieth century Ecuador and the coastal town known as the birthplace of cacao. Told in rich detail, this beautiful novel of sweeping historical fiction from an award-winning author is not to be missed.

As a child in Spain, Puri always knew her passion for chocolate was inherited from her father. But it’s not until his death that she learns of something else she’s inherited—a cocoa estate in Vinces, Ecuador, a town nicknamed “París Chiquito.” Eager to claim her birthright and filled with hope for a new life after the devastation of World War I, she and her husband Cristóbal set out across the Atlantic Ocean. But it soon becomes clear someone is angered by Puri’s claim to the estate…

When a mercenary sent to murder her aboard the ship accidentally kills Cristóbal instead, Puri dons her husband’s clothes and assumes his identity, hoping to stay safe while she searches for the truth of her father’s legacy in Ecuador. Though freed from the rules that women are expected to follow, Puri confronts other challenges at the estate—newfound siblings, hidden affairs, and her father’s dark secrets. Then there are the dangers awakened by her attraction to an enigmatic man as she tries to learn the identity of an enemy who is still at large, threatening the future she is determined to claim…

“Passionate and suspenseful, The Spanish Daughter is a satisfying historical mystery set in a lush tropical land.”
—Foreword ReviewsSTARRED REVIEW

“Engrossing…As addictive as chocolate.” —Publishers Weekly

  • Published: 29 March 2022
  • ISBN: 9781496736246
  • Imprint: Kensington
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 304
  • RRP: $27.99

Related titles