> Skip to content
  • Published: 3 August 2021
  • ISBN: 9781787631878
  • Imprint: Bantam Press
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 400
  • RRP: $32.99

The Rising Tide

The most heart-stopping and addictive thriller of 2021




Perfect for fans of Jane Harper, the beautifully written, evocative and pulse-pounding new novel from 'rare thriller talent' (Daily Mail) Sam Lloyd. A family pushed to its limits, set against the backdrop of the most unforgiving of landscapes.

HOW DID IT COME TO THIS?

The news doesn't strike cleanly, like a guillotine's blade. Nothing so merciful. This news is a slovenly traveller, dragging its feet, gradually revealing its horrors. And it announces itself first with violence - the urgent hammering of fists on the front door.

Life can change in a heartbeat.

Lucy has everything she could wish for: a beautiful home high on the clifftops above the Devon coast, a devoted husband and two beloved children.

Then one morning, time stops. Their family yacht is recovered, abandoned far out at sea. Lucy's husband is nowhere to be found and as the seconds tick by, she begins to wonder - what if he was the one who took the boat? And if so, where is he now?

As a once-in-a-generation storm frustrates the rescue operation, Lucy pieces together what happened onboard. And then she makes a fresh discovery. One that plunges her into a nightmare more shocking than any she could ever have imagined . . .

  • Published: 3 August 2021
  • ISBN: 9781787631878
  • Imprint: Bantam Press
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 400
  • RRP: $32.99

About the author

Sam Lloyd

Sam Lloyd grew up in Hampshire, making up stories and building secret hideaways in his local woods. These days he lives in Surrey with his wife, three young sons and a dog that likes to howl. The Memory Wood is his debut thriller.

Also by Sam Lloyd

See all

Praise for The Rising Tide

Beautifully written, incredibly evocative with a real sense of place and of the sea. Heart-stoppingly tense.

Catherine Cooper, bestselling author of The Chalet

Beautifully written, incredibly evocative with a real sense of place and of the sea. Heart-stoppingly tense.

Catherine Cooper, bestselling author of The Chalet

Fiendishly clever.

Sunday Times

Fiendishly clever.

Sunday Times

Lloyd is terrific on atmosphere, channelling the hostile, volatile power of the sea both literally and metaphorically... He excels at taking readers to very dark places

Metro

Lloyd is terrific on atmosphere, channelling the hostile, volatile power of the sea both literally and metaphorically... He excels at taking readers to very dark places

Metro

A cleverly crafted page-turner

Best

A cleverly crafted page-turner

Best

Absorbing and deftly written . . . Each page promises the literary equivalent of a fresh jab to the solar plexus.

The Herald

Absorbing and deftly written . . . Each page promises the literary equivalent of a fresh jab to the solar plexus.

The Herald

Related titles