> Skip to content
  • Published: 15 February 2022
  • ISBN: 9781529100709
  • Imprint: Del Rey
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 368
  • RRP: $29.99
Categories:

The House of Sorrowing Stars




A spellbinding and haunting literary fable of loss, from the author of Feathertide. Perfect for fans of The Binding and The Night Circus.

How do you heal a broken house?
First you unlock its secrets.

Alone on an island, surrounded by flowers that shine as dusk begins to fall, sits an old, faded house. Rooms cannot be rented here and visits are only for those haunted by the memory of loss.

When Liddy receives an invitation, she thinks there must be some mistake - she's never experienced loss. But with her curiosity stirred, and no other way to escape a life in which she feels trapped, she decides to accept.

Once there, she meets Vivienne, a beautiful, austere woman whose glare leaves Liddy unsettled; Ben, the reserved gardener; and Raphael, the enigmatic Keymaker. If Liddy is to discover her true purpose in the house, she must find the root of their sorrow - but the house won't give up its secrets so easily . . .

A spellbinding and haunting literary fable of loss, from the author of Feathertide. Perfect for fans of The Binding and The Night Circus.

  • Published: 15 February 2022
  • ISBN: 9781529100709
  • Imprint: Del Rey
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 368
  • RRP: $29.99
Categories:

About the author

Beth Cartwright

Beth Cartwright has taught English in Greece and travelled around South East Asia and South America, where she worked at an animal sanctuary. A love of language and the imaginary led her to study English Literature and Linguistics at Lancaster University, and she now lives on the edge of the Peak District with her family and two cats.

Feathertide is her debut novel.

Also by Beth Cartwright

See all

Praise for The House of Sorrowing Stars

PRAISE FOR FEATHERTIDE

:

A beautiful fairytale of a book with the most delicious prose. I devoured every page

Alex Bell, bestselling author of The Polar Bear Explorers' Club

A charming read filled with some beautifully poetic prose

SFX

An enchanting fairytale set in a rich fantasy world.

The Sun

Beth Cartwright has created such a rich, unique alternative world that is full of magic and I couldn't help but get completely immersed in it... What a fantastic debut from Beth Cartwright. I look forward to seeing what she does next

Novel Kicks

I would definitely recommend this book if you are a fantasy fan and just want a book you can cosy up in bed with and just forget about the world.

Two Book Thieves Blog

It felt like I was reading some kind of poetic, dreamy tale that completely enchants your mind. I was immediately captivated by the author's style of writing and it is probably one of the most imaginative, magical books I have ever read

Bookish Reads and Me

It's a story that is totally addictive and just so beautifully written. It's powerful, moving and original and it's one I will definitely be highly recommending

It's All About The Books

There is no way of describing my reading experience with this book as anything other than lovely, truly lovely

Evidently Bookish

What anchors you ashore is that it reads like a love letter to all the people who don't feel quite one thing or another, for all those of us who are still feeling out the world and seeking their place in it

Book Wyrms Galaxy

Related titles