> Skip to content
  • Published: 15 September 2020
  • ISBN: 9781529100952
  • Imprint: Del Rey
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 336
  • RRP: $32.99
Categories:

The Hollow Ones




From the Oscar-winning director of PAN'S LABYRINTH, THE SHAPE OF WATER, and HELLBOY, comes a new paranormal thriller - X-FILES meets Ben Aaronovitch.

Like a Jack Reacher crime thriller... with a Van Helsing-style demon hunter - The Guardian

From the Oscar-winning director of Pan's Labyrinth, The Shape of Water, and Hellboy, and the authors of The Strain comes a new paranormal thriller - X-FILES meets Ben Aaronovitch. ______________________________________A horrific crime that defies ordinary explanation.A rookie FBI agent in dangerous, uncharted territory.An extraordinary hero for the ages.Odessa's life is derailed when she's forced to turn her gun on her partner, who turns suddenly, inexplicably violent while apprehending a rampaging murderer. The shooting, justified by self-defence, shakes Odessa to her core and she is placed on desk leave pending a full investigation.

But what most troubles her isn't the tragedy itself - it's the shadowy presence she thought she saw fleeing the deceased agent's body after his death.

Questioning her future with the FBI and her sanity, Odessa accepts a low-level assignment to clear out the belongings of a retired agent in the New York office. What she finds there will put her on the trail of a mysterious figure named John Blackwood, a man of enormous means who claims to have been alive for centuries. What he tells her could mean he's an unhinged lunatic. That, or he's humanity's best and only defence against an unspeakable evil that could corrupt even the best of us . . .

  • Published: 15 September 2020
  • ISBN: 9781529100952
  • Imprint: Del Rey
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 336
  • RRP: $32.99
Categories:

About the authors

Chuck Hogan

Chuck Hogan is the author of several acclaimed novels, including Devils in Exile and Prince of Thieves, which won the 2005 Hammett Award, was named one of the ten best novels of the year by Stephen King, and was the basis of the motion picture The Town.

Praise for The Hollow Ones

PRAISE FOR THE HOLLOW ONES

:

A transporting, page-turning thriller that rips open a brand new universe, filling it with suspense.

Brad Meltzer, #1 NYT bestselling author of The Escape Artist

Guillermo del Toro and Chuck Hogan have yet another twisted masterpiece on their hands. An enduring new series combining horror, suspense, and fable.

Stephen Chbosky, NYT bestselling author of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Imaginary Friend

Inventive and macabre.

Kirkus

Horrifying . . . The authors keep the tension high throughout. Fans of Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child’s Pendergast books will be enthralled.

Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

_____________________________________________________________

.

PRAISE FOR GUILLERMO DEL TORO AND CHUCK HOGAN

:

Blends genre thrills with eccentric detours into folklore . . . diverting and never less than expertly crafted

Guardian

A rattling piece of escapism

The Times

A great read

The Sun

A pacy thriller with a great eye for detail

SFX

Related titles