> Skip to content
  • Published: 11 November 2021
  • ISBN: 9781787302402
  • Imprint: Harvill Secker
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 384
  • RRP: $38.99

The Dublin Railway Murder

The sensational true story of a Victorian murder mystery




An astonishing real-life murder mystery set in Victorian Dublin. This meticulously researched true-crime tale is perfect for fans of The Five by Hallie Rubenhold.

A thrilling and perplexing investigation of a true Victorian crime at Dublin railway station.

Dublin, November 1856: George Little, the chief cashier of the Broadstone railway terminus, is found dead, lying in a pool of blood beneath his desk.

He has been savagely beaten, his head almost severed; there is no sign of a murder weapon, and the office door is locked, apparently from the inside. Thousands of pounds in gold and silver are left untouched at the scene of the crime.

Augustus Guy, Ireland's most experienced detective, teams up with Dublin's leading lawyer to investigate the murder. But the mystery defies all explanation, and two celebrated sleuths sent by Scotland Yard soon return to London, baffled.

Five suspects are arrested then released, with every step of the salacious case followed by the press, clamouring for answers. But then a local woman comes forward, claiming to know the murderer....

  • Published: 11 November 2021
  • ISBN: 9781787302402
  • Imprint: Harvill Secker
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 384
  • RRP: $38.99

About the author

Thomas Morris

Thomas Morris worked for the BBC for seventeen years making programmes for Radio 4 and Radio 3. For five years he was the producer of In Our Time, and previously worked on Front Row, Open Book and The Film Programme. His freelance journalism has appeared in publications including The Times, The Lancet and The Cricketer. In 2015 he was awarded a Royal Society of Literature Jerwood Award for non-fiction. He lives in London.

Also by Thomas Morris

See all

Praise for The Dublin Railway Murder

The Dublin Railway Murder is a true-crime masterclass: meticulous, vivid and as compelling as any thriller...beautifully reconstructs mid-19th century Dublin, while never easing up on the pace. Brilliantly done throughout.

Philip Gray, author of TWO STORM WOOD

If, like me, you love everything Kate Summerscale writes, you'll lap up this compelling murder mystery...Morris draws us beautifully into his expert reconstruction of this baffling case.

The Bookseller

Related titles