> Skip to content
Read an extract
Play sample
  • Published: 13 February 2024
  • ISBN: 9781787637252
  • Imprint: Bantam
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 416
  • RRP: $34.99

The Book of Doors




These books are like weapons. And possession is power. . . With a perfect combination of dark magical books, unforgettable characters, and a storyline that grabs the reader and simply doesn't let go, this is the heart-stoppingly exciting contemporary fantasy debut of 2024.

‘Joyful, exuberant, and crackling with adventure.' STUART TURTON

‘A clever and beautiful novel about the power of books.’ SUNYI DEAN

‘Full of magic, wonder and heart.’ ANITA FRANK

‘A magical, mesmerising adventure from the very first page.’ A. J. WEST

----------------------------------

Because some doors should never be opened.

New York bookseller Cassie Andrews is not sure what she’s doing with her life. She lives quietly, sharing an apartment with her best friend, Izzy. Then a favourite customer gives her an old book. Full of strange writing and mysterious drawings, at the very front there is a handwritten message:

This is the Book of Doors. Hold it in your hand, and any door is every door.

Cassie is about to discover that the Book of Doors is a special book – a magic book. A book that bestows extraordinary abilities on whoever possesses it. And she is about to learn that there are other magic books out there that can also do wondrous – or dreadful and terrifying – things.

Because where there is magic there is power and there are those who will stop at nothing to possess it.

Suddenly Cassie and Izzy are confronted by violence and danger, and the only person who can help them is Drummond Fox who has a secret library of magical books hidden in the shadows for safekeeping, a man fleeing his own demons. Because there is a nameless evil out there that is hunting them all . . .

Because this book is worth killing for.

Addictive, brilliantly written and utterly irresistible, The Book of Doors is the spell-binding, mind-bending, heart-pounding new adventure that is perfect for fans of The Binding, The Midnight Library and A Discovery of Witches . . .

----------------------------------

‘A stunning fever dream of a story.’ LEE CHILD

‘A beautiful, unputdownable love letter to books.’ BETH LEWIS

‘A real page-turner – incredibly ambitious and inventive.’ ROSIE ANDREWS

  • Published: 13 February 2024
  • ISBN: 9781787637252
  • Imprint: Bantam
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 416
  • RRP: $34.99

About the author

Gareth Brown

Born in Falkirk, Gareth Brown wanted to be a writer from a very young age. He wrote his first (unpublished) novel when in his teens and short stories while at university. For the last twenty years he has worked in the UK Civil Service and is currently Director of Screening for NHS Scotland. An inveterate traveller, he particularly relishes the experience of arriving somewhere new: those first few hours of culture shock and noise and bustle in an unfamiliar city - a passion that influenced the writing of The Book of Doors.
Gareth Brown lives just outside Edinburgh.

Praise for The Book of Doors

A brilliant page-turner - a clever and beautiful novel about the power of books, and a tribute to those who champion them.

SUNYI DEAN, author of The Book Eaters

'A real page-turner - incredibly ambitious and inventive, The Book of Doors is a great read.'

ROSIE ANDREWS, author of The Leviathan

A magical, mesmerising adventure from the very first page. This is an extraordinary debut, rich with atmosphere. I think we've discovered something special. I dare you to step inside The Book of Doors, you won't want to leave.

A. J. WEST, author of The Spirit Engineer

The Book of Doors is a beautiful, unputdownable love letter to books and the power they hold in their pages. I loved it

BETH LEWIS, author of The Wolf Road

The Book of Doors by Gareth Brown is so good! A brilliant concept executed with mind-blowing precision, this intricately plotted book is breathtakingly clever, cinematic in scope and full of magic, wonder and heart.

ANITA FRANK, author of The Good Liars

The Book of Doors has everything — magic books, fascinating time loops, dreadful villains and likeable protagonists. Yet this is no children’s book, this is a book aimed squarely at adults. It’s clever, fast-paced and so very, very dark. I absolutely loved it.

M. W. CRAVEN, author of the Washington Poe series

A stunning fever dream of a story that feels completely real – don't miss this fantastic thriller debut.

LEE CHILD

Magical . . . a genius concept, brilliantly realised and beautifully written. If you enjoyed The Night Circus or Addie LaRue, you’ll be all over this . . . it’s gonna be HUGE!

JAMES GOODHAND, author of Last Lesson

A stunning adventure story. I loved it . . . fantastic storytelling.

CHRIS FROST, author of The Killer's Christmas List

Deftly written, a fascinating exploration of causality and choice.

GENEVIEVE COGMAN, author of The Invisible Library series

The Book of Doors is a stunningly visual read. Engaging, poetic, and beautifully phrased, it’s evocative imagery and well-thought-out characters lend to an adventurous tale brimming with possibility. The fight against a truly sinister villain will keep readers turning pages all the way to the end!

CHARLIE N. HOLMBERG, author of Keeper of Enchanted Rooms:

This whimsical, magical adventure will sweep you away from the first page to the last. Utterly unputdownable.

FRANCES WHITE, author of Voyage of the Damned

Joyful, exuberant, and crackling with adventure. This book is as magical as those it celebrates.

STUART TURTON, author of The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle.

What begins like a joyous daydream soon becomes a suspenseful thriller . . . a truly magical book: exciting, intricately plotted and emotionally compelling.

Lisa Tuttle, GUARDIAN

Twists and turns galore . . . this story, for one, moves at breakneck speed . . . it's the work of an author who shows considerable promise and has a sure grasp of how contemporary fantasy works.

FINANCIAL TIMES

A twisty good vs evil contemporary fantasy that's a testament to the multi-layered magic of books.

CULTUREFLY

An escapist time-travelling read with life-affirming messages, it's perfect for fans of Matt Haig's The Midnight Library.

WOMAN & HOME

The adventure which unfurls is mesmerizing to read.

THE i-NEWSPAPER

An ambitious work that starts slowly and builds into a compelling story . . . plenty of literal page-turning moments, and some clever plotting that leads to a satisfying ending.

SFX

Discover more

Article
Gareth Brown shares how a yearning to travel inspired The Book of Doors

Plus find out why he’d choose to live in Middle Earth and main difference between him and Hugh Jackman.