> Skip to content
  • Published: 12 September 2017
  • ISBN: 9781401276805
  • Imprint: DC Comics
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 296
  • RRP: $39.99

Sweet Tooth Book One



Now a Netflix Original Series!

In the tradition of The Road and The Stand, Eisner Award-nominated writer-artist Jeff Lemire (THE NOBODY, Essex County) presents a bold new postapocalyptic vision of the fate of humankind, the values of innocence, and the unexpected friendships that can emerge in even the darkest of places with SWEET TOOTH BOOK ONE.

Seven years ago, the Affliction raged like a forest fire, killing billions. The only children born since are part of a new breed of human-animal hybrids. Gus is one of these children: a boy with a sweet soul, a sweeter tooth—and the features of a deer.

But kids like Gus have a price on their heads. When vicious hunters descend on his isolated forest home, a mysterious and violent man called Jepperd rescues Gus. The hulking drifter promises to lead Gus to the Preserve, a fabled safe haven for hybrid children.

As the two cross this dangerous new American frontier, will Jepperd corrupt the boy he’s nicknamed “Sweet Tooth,” or will Gus’ heart change Jepperd?

Collects SWEET TOOTH #1-12, as well as character sketches, cover sketches, and an introduction by celebrated actor Michael Sheen (Masters of Sex, Frost/Nixon).

  • Published: 12 September 2017
  • ISBN: 9781401276805
  • Imprint: DC Comics
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 296
  • RRP: $39.99

About the author

Jeff Lemire

Award-winning Canadian cartoonist Jeff Lemire is the creator of the acclaimed monthly comic book series SWEET TOOTH published by DC/Vertigo and the award winning graphic novel Essex County published by Top Shelf. Now one of DC Comics cornerstone writers, Jeff was prominent in the publisher's recent New 52 line-wide relaunch as the writer of GREEN ARROW, ANIMAL MAN and FRANKENSTEIN: AGENT OF S.H.A.D.E. He has also written the monthly adventures of SUPERBOY, THE ATOM, and JUSTICE LEAGUE DARK. In 2008 Jeff won the Schuster Award for Best Canadian Cartoonist and The Doug Wright Award for Best Emerging Talent. He also won the American Library Association's prestigious Alex Award, recognizing books for adults with specific teen appeal. He has also been nominated for 5 Eisner awards and 5 Harvey Awards. In 2010 Essex County was named as one of the five Essential Canadian Novels of the Decade. He currently lives and works in Toronto with his wife and son.

Also by Jeff Lemire

See all

Praise for Sweet Tooth Book One

"Like a Coen brothers road-trip drama, SWEET TOOTH...is a fantastic post-apocalyptic comic." --AM NEW YORK "SWEET TOOTH is a grabber from the get-go...Lemire retains his gift for imbuing ordinary moments with a sense of wonder." --THE ONION "Jeff Lemire's SWEET TOOTH is as heartbreakingly elegant as it is wholly original. One of the best comics I've ever read."--Damon Lindelof, co-creator and executive producer of "Lost" I would crawl over broken glass to read this."--Jason Aaron (SCALPED)

Related titles