> Skip to content
  • Published: 1 June 2021
  • ISBN: 9781984803757
  • Imprint: Berkley
  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 432
  • RRP: $42.99

Surviving Savannah



It was called "The Titanic of the South." The luxury steamship sank in 1838 with Savannah's elite on board; through time, their fates were forgotten--until the wreck was found, and now their story is finally being told in this breathtaking novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Becoming Mrs. Lewis.

When Savannah history professor Everly Winthrop is asked to guest-curate a new museum collection focusing on artifacts recovered from the steamship Pulaski, she's shocked. The ship sank after a boiler explosion in 1838, and the wreckage was just discovered, 180 years later. Everly can't resist the opportunity to try to solve some of the mysteries and myths surrounding the devastating night of its sinking.

Everly's research leads her to the astounding history of a family of eleven who boarded the Pulaski together, and the extraordinary stories of two women from this family: a known survivor, Augusta Longstreet, and her niece, Lilly Forsyth, who was never found, along with her child. These aristocratic women were part of Savannah's society, but when the ship exploded, each was faced with difficult and heartbreaking decisions. This is a moving and powerful exploration of what women will do to endure in the face of tragedy, the role fate plays, and the myriad ways we survive the surviving.

  • Published: 1 June 2021
  • ISBN: 9781984803757
  • Imprint: Berkley
  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 432
  • RRP: $42.99

Praise for Surviving Savannah

“Fans of Christina Baker Kline and Kate Quinn will love this beautiful, richly detailed novel about a lost bit of American maritime history. In a seamless blending of fact and fiction, Patti Callahan has created an atmospheric, compelling story of survival, tragedy, the enduring power of myth and memory, and the moments that change one’s life.”—Kristin Hannah, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Great Alone

Kristin Hannah, Kristin Hannah

“Hidden history rises from the watery depths in all its glittering glory but also in its intimate, human detail. Meticulously researched, beautifully written, underpinned by timeless themes of personal trauma and its aftereffects, Surviving Savannah is a journey readers and book clubs will treasure.”—Lisa Wingate, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Book of Lost Friends

Lisa Wingate, Lisa Wingate

”Fiercely hopeful…Callahan’s expertly-drawn characters are forced to discover how to live past tragedy, and what matters most in the aftermath. This is exactly the kind of story we need right now.“—Paula McLain, New York Times bestselling author of The Paris Wife

Paula McLain, Paula McLain

Related titles