> Skip to content

A raw, candid and darkly funny memoir from a stunning new voice on Britain’s poverty line, perfect for fans of Poverty Safari, Prozac Nation, I Daniel Blake and Chavs.

‘Cash is the definition of edgy, a truly distinctive voice’ – Lionel Shriver, bestselling author of We Need to Talk about Kevin

How many more unheard voices are out there just like me?

Cash Carraway is a single mum living in temporary accommodation.
She’s been moved around the system since she left home at sixteen.
She’s also been called a stain on society.
And she’s caught in a poverty trap.

Skint Estate is the hard-hitting debut memoir about impoverishment, loneliness and violence – set against a grim landscape of sink estates, police cells, refuges and peepshows.

Told frankly, but with an eye roll and a smirk, Cash delves into the reality of family estrangement, mental illness, alcoholism and domestic violence in working-class Britain today. We're taken on her isolated journey, as benefit cuts, lone parenting and zero contract hours force her to turn to food banks, refuges and temporary accommodation - and the feelings of displacement and separation that follow.

Despite the daily challenges and the difficult hurdles she must jump over to survive, Cash never loses sight of what's most important in life, as she also explores friendship, family and hope in the darkest of times.

Blunt, dignified and brutally revealing, Skint Estate takes Cash’s personal story and skilfully weaves it into a manifesto for change.

Formats & editions

  • Hardback

    9781529103373

    June 20, 2019

    Ebury Press

    320 pages

    RRP $35.00

    Online retailers

    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Amazon
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Dymocks
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • The Nile
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

  • EBook

    9781473565685

    June 20, 2019

    Ebury Digital

    320 pages

    Online retailers

    • iBooks
    • Amazon Kindle AU
    • Booktopia
    • eBooks
    • Google Play EBook AU
    • Kobo