> Skip to content

A raw, candid and darkly funny memoir from a stunning new voice on Britain’s poverty line, perfect for fans of Poverty Safari, Prozac Nation, I Daniel Blake and Chavs.

“Everyone has their price. It’s just not always monetary. Mine is though. 20 quid.”
Single mum. ‘Stain on society’. Caught in a poverty trap.
It’s a luxury to afford morals and if you’re Cash Carraway, you do what you can to survive.

Skint Estate
is the hard-hitting, blunt, dignified and brutally revealing debut memoir about impoverishment, loneliness and violence in austerity Britain – set against a grim landscape of sink estates, police cells, refuges and peepshows – skilfully woven into a manifesto for change.
Alone, pregnant and living in a women’s refuge, Cash Carraway couldn’t vote in the 2010 general election that ushered austerity into Britain. Her voice had been silenced. Years later, she watched Grenfell burn from a women’s refuge around the corner. What had changed? The vulnerable were still at the bottom of the heap, unheard. Without a stable home, without a steady income, without family support – how do you survive?

In Skint Estate, Cash has found her voice – loud, raw and cutting. This is a book born straight from life lived in Britain below the poverty line – a brutal landscape savaged by universal credit, zero-hours contracts, rising rents and public service funding cuts. Told with a dark lick of humour and two-fingers up to the establishment, Cash takes us on her isolated journey from council house childhood to single motherhood, working multiple jobs yet relying on food banks and temporary accommodation, all while skewering stereotypes of what it means to be working class.

Despite being beaten down from all angles, Cash clings to the important things – love for her daughter, community and friendships – and has woven together a highly charged, hilarious and guttural cry for change.

'What an astonishingly brilliant memoir. I’m speechless. So beautifully, passionately written without a shred of self-pity and brim full of this unbreakable mother daughter Love at the heart of it all... Raw, gut-wrenching and immensely moving' - Ruth Jones

‘Cash is the definition of edgy, a truly distinctive voice’ – Lionel Shriver, bestselling author of We Need to Talk about Kevin
'Skint Estate will stay with me forever. Cash's brutal honesty will leave you wanting to make a change, stand up and be heard. A must read, and when you've read it pass it on' – Vicky McClure

'Cash Carraway's unique voice, filled in equal measure with rage and inspiration, tells a story of hope amongst state violence. Brilliant and compelling' – Anna Minton, author of Big Capital and Ground Control

Formats & editions

  • Hardback

    9781529103373

    July 11, 2019

    Ebury Press

    368 pages

    RRP $35.00

    Online retailers

    • Amazon
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Dymocks
    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop
    • The Nile
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

  • EBook

    9781473565685

    June 20, 2019

    Ebury Digital

    368 pages

    Online retailers

    • Amazon Kindle AU
    • iBooks
    • Google Play EBook AU
    • Kobo Ebook
    • Booktopia
    • eBooks