> Skip to content

Excitement, drama and action — and the answers to all your burning questions!

Everyone knows the legends of Araluen, from Ranger's apprentice Will's narrow escape in Skandia to the time Horace became friends with the Emperor of Nihon-Ja, from the story of how Princess Cassandra became known as Evanlyn to the story of Alyss's imprisonment in the Castle of Macindaw.

But what about the lost stories — the ones that have been rumoured throughout the centuries, but no one has been able to prove? Finally, in the archeological remains of a small house in a forest, the answers have been found...

What did Gilan do while Halt and Horace set off for Skandia to rescue Will? Has Halt told Will the true story of what happened when Will's parents died? What happens to Ranger horses when they grow too old to keep up with their duties? Did Horace and Cassandra ever get married?

Ranger's Apprentice fans will love this collection of stories, covering the entire span of the series, from Will's birth to events after book 10 that will lead into the next book in the series. Many of the stories answer questions that fans have asked over the years, and feature fans' favourite characters.

Formats & editions

  • Paperback


    October 3, 2011

    Random House Australia Children's

    512 pages

    RRP $17.99

    Online retailers

    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Dymocks
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • The Nile
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

  • EBook


    September 28, 2011

    Random House Australia

    512 pages

    Online retailers

    • iBooks
    • Amazon Kindle
    • Booktopia
    • eBooks
    • Google Play
    • Kobo

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

Also by John Flanagan

Brotherband 7: The Caldera
Ranger's Apprentice 1: The Ruins Of Gorlan
Ranger's Apprentice 2: The Burning Bridge
Ranger's Apprentice 3: The Icebound Land
Ranger's Apprentice The Early Years 2: The Battle of Hackham Heath
Ranger's Apprentice 7: Erak's Ransom
Ranger's Apprentice 4: Oakleaf Bearers
Ranger's Apprentice 6: The Siege Of Macindaw
Ranger's Apprentice 5: Sorcerer In The North
Brotherband 6: The Ghostfaces
Brotherband 5: Scorpion Mountain
Ranger's Apprentice 10: The Emperor Of Nihon-Ja
Ranger's Apprentice The Early Years 1: The Tournament at Gorlan
Brotherband 1: The Outcasts
Ranger's Apprentice 12: The Royal Ranger
Brotherband 4: Slaves of Socorro
Ranger's Apprentice 9: Halt's Peril
The Grey Raider
Brotherband 3: The Hunters
Brotherband 2: The Invaders
Ranger's Apprentice 8: The Kings of Clonmel


Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons series)
Ranger's Apprentice 1: The Ruins Of Gorlan
Magisterium: The Silver Mask
The Alchemyst
The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas
Magnus Chase And The Ship Of The Dead (Book 3)
The Whiz Mob and the Grenadine Kid
La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One
Auggie & Me: Three Wonder Stories
Hatchimals: The Official Colleggtor's Guide
Hollow City
Friday Barnes 1: Girl Detective
Alice-Miranda in Hollywood
The Martian
A Wrinkle In Time
Our Australian Girl: The Lina Stories
Mummy Fairy And Me