> Skip to content
  • Published: 18 January 2022
  • ISBN: 9781787302891
  • Imprint: Harvill Secker
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 352
  • RRP: $32.99

Pandora

An immersive and gripping historical novel set in Georgian London




A pure pleasure of a novel set in Georgian London, where the discovery of a mysterious ancient Greek vase sets in motion conspiracies, revelations and romance.

A pure pleasure of a novel set in Georgian London, where the discovery of a mysterious ancient Greek vase sets in motion conspiracies, revelations and romance.
There is a fine line between coincidence and fate...

London, 1799. Dora Blake is an aspiring jewellery artist who lives with her uncle in what used to be her parents' famed shop of antiquities. When a mysterious Greek vase is delivered, Dora is intrigued by her uncle's suspicious behaviour and enlists the help of Edward Lawrence, a young man seeking acceptance into the Society of Antiquaries. Edward sees the ancient vase as key to unlocking his academic future. Dora sees it as a chance to restore her parents' shop to its former glory, and to escape her uncle.

But what Edward discovers about the vase has Dora questioning everything she has ever known about her life, her family and the world as she knows it. As Dora uncovers the truth she starts to realise that some mysteries are buried, and some doors are locked, for a reason.

Gorgeously atmospheric and deliciously page-turning, Pandora deals with themes of secrets and deception, love and fulfilment, fate and hope.

  • Published: 18 January 2022
  • ISBN: 9781787302891
  • Imprint: Harvill Secker
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 352
  • RRP: $32.99

Praise for Pandora

A richly evocative and hugely enjoyable read, bubbling with mysteries, secrets and pleasures.

Joseph O'Connor

Pandora weaves together Ancient Greek myth with suspenseful mystery and beguiling romance, set against the brilliantly rendered background of Georgian London. This novel is lush, evocative and utterly irresistible. Susan Stokes-Chapman's prose is exquisite and the story effortlessly intriguing. This is an absolute treasure trove of a book. Perfect for fans of Laura Purcell and Elizabeth Macneal.

Jennifer Saint, author of Ariadne

Brimming with authentic Georgian detail and richly imagined characters, Pandora is a dazzling page-turner of a debut! Enticing, surprising and full of mystery, if you're a fan of The Binding or Daughters of Night, then you'll love Pandora.

Joanne Burn, author of The Hemlock Cure

Beautifully written with a gripping story and characters who are well drawn and complex, I absolutely loved this.

Katie Fforde

An accomplished debut, vividly portrayed... Stokes-Chapman is a stand-out voice.

Guinevere Glasfurd, author of the Costa-shortlisted The Words in my Hand

Pandora is such an immersive debut - an intriguing mystery, lavish with Georgian detail and tantalising hints of another world.

Kate Mascarenhas, author of The Psychology of Time Travel

An utterly compelling, convincing piece of historical fiction, threaded through with a dash of mythology. Readers will be rooting for Dora from the start, and spellbound as the story unfolds. I loved it.

Elizabeth Lee, author of Cunning Women

A gleaming and brilliant novel of history, mystery and mythology set in Georgian London...a real gem of a debut

Anna Mazzola

A complete and utter joy of a book. I adored the characters and it was an incredibly atmospheric read. The evocation of eighteenth century London was beautifully done, the mystery kept me turning the pages and the love story captured my heart. My only complaint was I didn't want it to end!'

Elodie Harper, bestselling author of The Wolf Den

This novel is a work of genius. Beautifully written and perfectly plotted with a heroine you'll fall in love with. It richly describes Georgian London and weaves character study and gorgeous setting and Greek mythology into a perfect book. One of the best historical novels I've ever read.

Christina Sweeney-Baird

This is an immersive, evocative story full of romance and intrigue

Red

Related titles