> Skip to content
  • Published: 12 April 2022
  • ISBN: 9781641292917
  • Imprint: Soho Press
  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 288
  • RRP: $47.99

One-Shot Harry



Race and civil rights in 1963 Los Angeles provide a powerful backdrop in Gary Phillips’s riveting historical crime novel about an African American forensic photographer seeking justice for a friend—perfect for fans of Walter Mosley, James Ellroy, and George Pelecanos.

Los Angeles, 1963. African American Korean War veteran Harry Ingram earns a living as a news photographer and occasional process server: chasing police radio calls and dodging baseball bats. With racial tensions running high on the eve of Martin Luther King’s Freedom Rally, Ingram risks becoming a victim at every crime scene he photographs.

When Ingram hears about a deadly automobile accident on his police scanner, he recognizes the vehicle described as belonging to his good friend and old army buddy, a white jazz trumpeter. The LAPD declares the car crash an accident, but when Ingram develops his photos, he sees signs of foul play. Ingram feels compelled to play detective, even if it means putting his own life on the line. Armed with his wits, his camera, and occasionally his Colt .45, “One-Shot” Harry plunges headfirst into the seamy underbelly of LA society, tangling with racists, leftists, gangsters, zealots, and lovers, all in the hope of finding something resembling justice for a friend.

Master storyteller and crime fiction legend Gary Phillips has filled the pages of One-Shot Harry with fascinating historical cameos, wise-cracks, tenderness, and an edge-of-your-seat thrillride of a plot with consequences far beyond one dead body. 1960s Los Angeles comes to vivid life through the eyes and lens of Harry Ingram himself, a brave and relatable new protagonist well-worth rooting for.

  • Published: 12 April 2022
  • ISBN: 9781641292917
  • Imprint: Soho Press
  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 288
  • RRP: $47.99

Praise for One-Shot Harry

Praise for Gary Phillips “Gary Phillips is my kind of crime writer.” —Sara Paretsky, New York Times bestselling author   “In the tradition of Dashiell Hammett . . . Makes us feel that the war he’s wagering is for our own salvation.” —Walter Mosley, author of the Easy Rawlins series   “Gary Phillips writes tough and gritty parables about life and death on the mean streets . . . his is a voice that should be heard and celebrated.” —Michael Connelly, author of Void Moon and Angel’s Flight

Related titles