> Skip to content

This collection brings together the small proportion of Kafka's works that he thought worthy of publication. It includes Metamorphosis, his most famous work, an exploration of horrific transformation and alienation; Meditation, a collection of his earlier studies; The Judgement, written in a single night of frenzied creativity; The Stoker, the first chapter of a novel set in America and a fascinating occasional piece, The Aeroplanes at Brescia, Kafka's eyewitness account of an air display in 1909. Together, these stories reveal the breadth of Kafka's literary vision and the extraordinary imaginative depth of his thought.

Formats & editions

  • Paperback


    June 28, 2010

    Penguin Press

    236 pages

    RRP $12.99

    Online retailers

    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Dymocks
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • The Nile
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

Also by Franz Kafka

Investigations of a Dog
The Burrow And Other Stories
Letters To Friends, Family, And Editors
Letter to the Father/Brief an den Vater
The Metamorphosis
In The Penal Colony
The Zurau Aphorisms
The Trial: Popular Penguins
The Complete Novels Of Kafka
Metamorphosis And Other Stories
The Great Wall Of China
The Trial
Letters To Felice
Collected Stories
The Castle
Letters To Milena


The Crucible
Nineteen Eighty Four
Pride And Prejudice
The Great Gatsby
Jane Eyre
Medea And Other Plays
Anna Karenina
The Picture of Dorian Gray
The Little Prince: Popular Penguins
Great Expectations
The Odyssey
Notes from Underground: Popular Penguins
The Grapes Of Wrath
The Outsiders
Late Essays
The Prose Factory