> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 15 November 2016
  • ISBN: 9781784160609
  • Imprint: Black Swan
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 416
  • RRP: $19.99

Martini Henry


Formats & editions


The hilarious, quirky and utterly charming second novel from the author of CAMPARI FOR BREAKFAST.



'Every page brings giddy joy . . . a heady cocktail of humanity, humour and heart' Tamsin Greig

'Quirky and funny in spades' Helen Lederer, author of LOSING IT

Life isn’t an exact science. Things can be troublesome. Like pregnant step-mothers, the ins-and-outs of French existentialism . . . having an unexceptional name.

In 1988, seventeen-year-old Sue Bowl has a diary, big dreams and £4.73. What she wants most of all is to make it as a writer, as well as stop her decadent aunt Coral spending money she doesn't have.

Living in their crumbling ancestral home should provide plenty of inspiration, but between falling in love, hunting for missing heirlooms and internship applications, things keep getting in the way.

So when a young literary professor moves in and catches Sue's eye, life begins to take an unexpected turn . . .

From the author of Campari for Breakfast, a witty and enchanting novel about what happens after you think you’ve grown up and fallen in love, perfect for fans of I Capture the Castle, Love, Nina and Where’d You Go Bernadette.

  • Pub date: 15 November 2016
  • ISBN: 9781784160609
  • Imprint: Black Swan
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 416
  • RRP: $19.99

About the Author

Sara Crowe

Sara Crowe was born in a tiny cottage in Cornwall and raised in the wilds of Devon, Lincolnshire, Yorkshire and several other English counties. She has worked as a part-time shepherd, a model (the clothed variety) and a film extra. She has a PhD from Bristol University and has taught courses on early cinema and the history of photography. In 2013, she went on a year-long journey around Britain in a motorhome, photographing and writing about nature, local folklore and the landscape as she goes.Her first novel was Bone Jack.

Also by Sara Crowe

See all

Praise for Martini Henry

“I started reading MARTINI HENRY outside in the sunshine. When the sun disappeared I didn’t notice, because the book is so filled with light. Every page brings giddy joy out of tender pockets of loss . . . 3 parts coming-of-age journal, 2 parts historical treasure, 1 part hilarious literary longing, this is a heady cocktail of humanity, humour and heart.”

Tamsin Greig

“Quirky and funny in spades”

Helen Lederer, author of LOSING IT

“A fun and quirky read for the summer”

OK!

“Sara Crowe has written a very intelligent book that intrigues and captivates... It’s a book to be savoured and enjoyed, a perfect weekend read!”

Hot Brands Cool Places

“Brilliantly funny coming-of-age story****”

Heat

“Perfect for lovers of quirky, witty offbeat literary fiction! It’s witty, quirky and unashamedly good fun.”

My Weekly


Related titles