> Skip to content

A witty, insightful romantic comedy, which draws on the author’s experience of the comedy world, working in radio, and being immature and childless! For fans of David Nicholls, Ben Elton and Nick Hornby.

A witty, insightful romantic comedy, which draws on the author’s experience of the comedy world, working in radio, and being immature and childless! For fans of David Nicholls, Ben Elton and Nick Hornby.

Dan McIntyre isn’t ready to settle down. As a stand-up comedian with a career that’s taking off, it was easy to walk away from his girlfriend’s ultimatum: comedy or kids.

But now he's starting to feel like he's the last man standing while all his friends are switching socialising for baby wipes. Sure, his mates are still wide awake at 3am with a bottle in their hand – but now it's for a very different reason.

Dan reckons he spends enough time with spoiled brats in his day job wrangling a breakfast radio duo known as Bry Dynamite and Silly Sally. He can't understand why everyone's giving up their social lives for creatures who express themselves through loud, irritating noises and bodily fluids. But at least it's giving him material for a new comedy show, Man vs Child.

Then Penny, the woman who broke his heart in high school, walks back into his life. She's newly single, and wants to reconnect with her old pal from French class – except now she has a one-year-old son...

Formats & editions

  • Trade Paperback

    9781742753218

    August 1, 2013

    Bantam Australia

    320 pages

    RRP $32.99

    Online retailers

    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Dymocks
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • The Nile
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

  • EBook

    9781742753225

    August 1, 2013

    RHA eBooks Adult

    320 pages

    Online retailers

    • iBooks
    • Amazon Kindle
    • Booktopia
    • eBooks
    • Google Play
    • Kobo
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

Also by Dominic Knight

Comrades
Disco Boy

Recommendations

Best Laid Plans
The Handmaid's Tale
To Kill A Mockingbird
Echo Burning
A Gentleman in Moscow
Fool Me Once
The Golden House
The Girl on the Train
The Heart's Invisible Furies
Voyager
Swing Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog In the Night-time
The Narrow Road to the Deep North
The Road to Little Dribbling
The Girls
Cold Blood
Fifty Shades Darker
The Trip of a Lifetime
Colombiano
The Light Between Oceans