> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 9 July 2019
  • ISBN: 9780553523850
  • Imprint: RH USA Kids Trade
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 40
  • RRP: $12.99
Categories:

Mad Scientist Academy

The Space Disaster




Fans of Ada Twist, Scientist, will want to join Dr. Cosmic’s class of clever monsters as they tackle gravity, comets, and many moons in the third book of the Mad Scientist Academy series.

When Dr. Cosmic’s class meets Commander Nova, the school astronomer, they know their next lesson will be out of this world!

With the help of Dr. Cosmic’s latest invention—a planetarium—the class must complete four challenges. Each time the planetarium shifts and the atmosphere changes, the students find themselves floating from planet to planet. They put their new magnetic antigravity belts and trusted handbooks to the test to figure out where in the solar system Dr. Cosmic’s invention has “sent” them—and how to land safely back on Earth.

Don't Miss Mad Scientist Academy: The Ocean Disaster!

"Young readers can only hope for this much excitement on their real field trips." —Kirkus Reviews

"[A] space adventure that young readers will pore over, learn from, and enjoy." —School Library Journal

  • Pub date: 9 July 2019
  • ISBN: 9780553523850
  • Imprint: RH USA Kids Trade
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 40
  • RRP: $12.99

Also by Matthew McElligott

See all

Praise for Mad Scientist Academy

“"Young readers can only hope for this much excitement on their real field trips." —Kirkus Reviews "[A] space adventure that young readers will pore over, learn from, and enjoy." —School Library Journal Praise for Mad Scientist Academy: The Weather Disaster “With outlandish situations rendering scientific concepts memorable, McElligott has concocted a winning formula for learning as entertainment.” —Kirkus Reviews "Engaging and educational." —Booklist   “There’s enough fun here for anyone.” —School Library Journal   “No need for MSA kids to take a field trip: what could be more interesting than school?” —The Bulletin Praise for Mad Scientist Academy: The Dinosaur Disaster “Dr. Cosmic is plainly a colleague of Ms. Frizzle, and the mix of pithy banter, tumultuous field-trip mishaps, and science fact is as familiar as it is winning. Fans of the Frizz will be dino-delighted. Mad fun.” —Kirkus Reviews, Starred “Like Joanna Cole and Bruce Degen’s ‘Magic School Bus’ series (Scholastic), the use of a school setting, a quirky teacher, and wild hands-on learning situations provides an engaging blend of humor, adventure, and information.” —School Library Journal “One of Summer’s Must-Read Children’s Books.” —Bookish.com Kids’ Indie Next List”


Related titles