> Skip to content
  • Published: 15 July 2017
  • ISBN: 9780553523782
  • Imprint: RH USA Kids Trade
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 40
  • RRP: $13.99

Mad Scientist Academy

The Space Disaster




Fans of Ada Twist, Scientist, will want to join Dr. Cosmic’s class of clever monsters as they tackle gravity, comets, and many moons in the third book of the Mad Scientist Academy series.

Fans of Ada Twist, Scientist, will want to enroll in Dr. Cosmic's class of clever monsters at the Mad Scientist Academy as they solve the greatest challenges in science in this perfect blend of adventure and exploration. Welcome to Mad Scientist Academy! The first day of school is always exciting, and Dr. Cosmic’s new students can’t wait to get started. After their teacher reveals that their school pet, Oscar, is a dinosaur, they quickly realize Dr. Cosmic has an unusual teaching style. To find Oscar, the class has to follow the clues through the realistic dinosaur exhibit Dr. Cosmic designed and built over the summer. But when a malfunction causes the robotic dinosaurs to come alive, this prehistoric exhibit feels a little too real! “Dr. Cosmic is plainly a colleague of Ms. Frizzle, and the mix of pithy banter, tumultuous field-trip mishaps, and science fact is as familiar as it is winning. Fans of the Frizz will be dino-delighted. Mad fun.” —Kirkus Reviews, Starred

“Like Joanna Cole and Bruce Degen’s ‘Magic School Bus’ series (Scholastic), the use of a school setting, a quirky teacher, and wild hands-on learning situations provides an engaging blend of humor, adventure, and information.” —School Library Journal

“One of Summer’s Must-Read Children’s Books.” —Bookish.com

Kids’ Indie Next List

From the Hardcover edition.

  • Published: 15 July 2017
  • ISBN: 9780553523782
  • Imprint: RH USA Kids Trade
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 40
  • RRP: $13.99

Also by Matthew McElligott

See all

Praise for Mad Scientist Academy

"An informative but hair-raising tour of a rather-too-realistic dinosaur exhibit gives six new students a memorable first day at Mad Scientist Academy...Mad fun." — Kirkus Reviews starred review 

Related titles