> Skip to content
Life with Beau
About the book
  • Published: 30 June 2011
  • ISBN: 9781407008196
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 96
Categories:

Life with Beau

A Tale of a Dog and His Family


Formats & editions


A wise 'guide to life' - a gem from Pulitzer Prize winning and No. 1 New York Times bestselling author Anna Quindlen, in the vein of A SHORT GUIDE TO A HAPPY LIFE and MARLEY AND ME

What started as an ode to Quindlen's aging black Labrador in her Newsweek column has become a life-affirming short book about happiness, in the tradition of A SHORT GUIDE TO A HAPPY LIFE and BEING PERFECT.

In this wise little book, Anna Quindlen writes: "The life of a good dog is like the life of a good person, only shorter, more compressed." Quindlen continues, with her trademark wonderful writing, sound wisdom and humor, to explain how her life has unfolded in tandem with Beau, and how she's learned how to enjoy life, in the simplest of ways, by watching him.

She writes, "When I was a mixed-breed puppy, I could never have imagined how simple and basic contentment could be. And that's what I've learned from watching Beau: to roll with the punches, to take things as they come, to measure myself not in terms of the past or the future but of the present, to raise my nose in the air from time to time and, at least metaphorically, holler, "I smell bacon!"

  • Pub date: 30 June 2011
  • ISBN: 9781407008196
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 96

About the Author

Anna Quindlen

Anna Quindlen is a novelist and journalist whose work has appeared on fiction, non-fiction, and self-help bestseller lists. She is the author of six novels: Object Lessons, One True Thing, Black and Blue, Blessings, Rise and Shine, and Every Last One. Her memoir Lots of Candles, Plenty of Cake, published in 2012, was a number one New York Times bestseller. Her book A Short Guide to a Happy Life has sold more than a million copies. While a columnist at The New York Times she won the Pulitzer Prize and published two collections, Living Out Loud and Thinking Out Loud. Her Newsweek columns were collected in Loud and Clear.

Also by Anna Quindlen

See all

Related titles