> Skip to content
  • Published: 28 September 2021
  • ISBN: 9780593120460
  • Imprint: RHUS Children's Books
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 224
  • RRP: $12.99

History Smashers

The Titanic




Myths! Lies! Secrets! Uncover the hidden truth behind the sinking of the Titanic with beloved educator/author Kate Messner. The fun mix of sidebars, illustrations, photos, and graphic panels make this perfect for fans of I Survived! and Nathan Hale’s Hazardous Tales.

Myths! Lies! Secrets! Uncover the hidden truth behind the Revolutionary War with beloved educator/author Kate Messner. The fun mix of sidebars, illustrations, photos, and graphic panels make this perfect for fans of I Survived! and Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales.

On April 18, 1775, Paul Revere rode through Lexington and Concord, Massachusetts, shouting, "The British are coming!" to start the American Revolution.RIGHT?

WRONG! Paul Revere made it to Lexington, but before he could complete his mission, he was captured!

The truth is, dozens of Patriots rode around warning people about the Redcoats' plans that night. It was actually a man named Samuel Prescott who succeeded, alerting townspeople in Lexington and then moving on to Concord. But the Revolutionary War didn't officially start for more than a year after Prescott's ride. No joke.

Discover the nonfiction series that smashes everything you thought you knew about history. Don't miss History Smashers: The Mayflower, Women's Right to Vote, Pearl Harbor, and Titanic.

  • Published: 28 September 2021
  • ISBN: 9780593120460
  • Imprint: RHUS Children's Books
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 224
  • RRP: $12.99

Praise for History Smashers

Praise for the History Smashers series: "Critical, respectful, engaging: exemplary history for children." --Kirkus Reviews, starred review  "The book’s format may be a good match for those with shorter attention spans, and permits it to be gratifyingly capacious in what it covers." --New York Times Book Review  "Well-researched, entertaining, and packed with facts." --Booklist “Messner and Meconis provide a timely perspective on an important part of American history.” School Library Journal "A history book for middle-graders that should be on everyone's (child and adult) to-read list." --Shelf Awareness "Kate Messner serves up fun, fast history for kids who want the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth. Absolutely smashing!" —Candace Fleming, award-wining author "Informative and fun, eye-opening and entertaining. I wish I could have read History Smashers when I was in elementary school. I would have devoured them and developed a big appetite for even more of this sort of truth-telling." --Chris Barton, award-winning author

Related titles