> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 1 April 2016
  • ISBN: 9780515155167
  • Imprint: Jove
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 432
  • RRP: $13.99
Categories:

His Wicked Reputation: Wicked Book 1


Formats & editions


From the New York Times bestselling Madeline Hunter comes this first in a stunning new trilogy about three irresistibly attractive brothers.  This is the story of the bastard brother . . . For fans of Mary Balogh and Amanda Quick.

From the New York Times bestselling Madeline Hunter comes this first in a stunning new trilogy about three irresistibly attractive brothers.  This is the story of the bastard brother . . . For fans of Mary Balogh and Amanda Quick.

Gareth Fitzallen is celebrated for four things: his handsome face, his notable charm, his aristocratic connections, and an ability to give the kind of pleasure that has women begging for more. Normally he bestows his talents on experienced, worldly women. But when he heads to Langdon's End to restore a property he inherited—and to investigate a massive art theft—he lays plans to seduce a most unlikely lady.

Eva Russell lives a spinster's life of precarious finances and limited dreams while clinging to her family's old gentry status. She supports herself by copying paintings while she plots to marry her lovely sister to a well-established man. Everyone warns her of Gareth's reputation, and advises her to lock her sister away. Only it is not her sister Gareth desires. One look, and she knows he is trouble. One kiss, however, proves she is no match for this master of seduction. 
Praise for His Wicked Reputation 'Hunter . . . spins the intrigues of an enterprising bastard son and a resourceful artist to delightful effect in this excellent launch of the Wicked series of Regency romances. Gareth Fitzallen, illegitimate son of the Duke of Aylesbury, has two skills: brokering art deals and pleasing women in bed. When his poisonous half-brother dies, Gareth takes possession of his disputed inheritance, a near-ruined manor house. He is also tasked with solving the mystery of a missing art cache, an invaluable collection hidden in case of Napoleon's invasion that has vanished without trace. Impoverished spinster Eva Russell supports herself and her sister, Rebecca, by painting and selling copies of the Gainsboroughs she's found in the attic of Gareth's house. After an inauspicious first encounter, Gareth and Eva become unlikely friends and lovers, but Gareth's pursuit of the stolen masterpieces may endanger Eva and destroy their chance at happiness. The period detail educates without being onerous. Characters, such as the eccentric sisters who befriend Eva and Rebecca, round out an entertaining cast, and the romance and suspense are balanced perfectly.' Publishers Weekly (starred review)

'Hunter's PhD in art history stands her in good stead in this fascinating, danger-tinged novel, the first in a new trilogy. With her usual aplomb, Hunter seamlessly marries seductive wit with smoldering sensuality in her latest impeccably written Regency romance.' Booklist

'Plot and passion come together to make this a sexy, compelling story.' BookPage

Praise for The Accidental Duchess

'A rash, adventure-seeking heroine and an honorable, take-charge hero clash splendidly as passions blaze in this complex story that pairs another marvelously singular couple, brings the bad guys to justice, and cleverly ties up the loose ends . . . to the delight of all concerned.' Library Journal  

'Fueled by an abundance of subtle wit and potent sensuality, The Accidental Duchess…is another exquisitely crafted love story by one of the romance genre's masters.' Booklist 

Praise for the previous novels of Madeline Hunter

'Another stellar Regency-set historical romance that hits all the literary marks. Hunter's effortlessly elegant writing exudes a wicked sense of wit; her characterization is superbly subtle, and the sexual chemistry she cooks up between her deliciously independent heroine and delightfully sexy hero is pure passion.' Booklist (starred review)

'Intelligent and memorable…As smart and sharp as the best of Regency romances can be.  With its tangy dialogue, Pride and Prejudice themes, bits of mystery and nefarious characters, readers may be reminded of Jane Austen.' Romantic Times (Top Pick)

'Hunter's books are so addictive.' Publishers Weekly

'Hunter's flowery centerpiece will suit every romance table. Highly recommended.' Library Journal

  • Pub date: 1 April 2016
  • ISBN: 9780515155167
  • Imprint: Jove
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 432
  • RRP: $13.99
Categories:

About the Author

Madeline Hunter

MADELINE HUNTER is a nationally bestselling author of historical romances who lives in Pennsylvania with her husband and two sons. In a parallel existence to the one she enjoys as a novelist, she has a Ph.D. in art history and teaches at an East Coast university.

Also by Madeline Hunter

See all

Related titles