> Skip to content
  • Published: 29 February 2012
  • ISBN: 9781448136117
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 464

Goodbye Piccadilly

an unmissable turn-of-the-century wartime saga about one department store, and the people who depend on it



In this powerful sequel to PACKARDS, much loved author Patricia Burns returns to the London department store, bringing its people and its wartime challenges expertly to life. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Rosie Goodwin and Josephine Cox...
READERS ARE LOVING GOODBYE PICCADILLY!
'I could hardly bear to put my kindle down until I had read the final chapter!' - Loving
'One of the best books I have read for a long time'-- ***** Reader review
'Another excellent read - couldn't put it down' -- ***** Reader review
'Loved it' -- ***** Reader review
*********************************************************
AS EUROPE PLUNGES INTO WAR, WILL PACKARDS - AND ITS PEOPLE - SURVIVE?

Following the death of Thomas Packard, the tensions between his grandchildren mount:

Who will get the major shareholding in the store? Who will be on the board? Who will be chairman?
Amelie fights to maintain her position whilst not only coping with a marriage that is far from perfect but also trying to resist a strong attraction to her friend's husband.

Then their world is torn apart by the declaration of war - business must go on despite staffing difficulties. It opens up new opportunities for Amelie, who is quick to seize them, and puts ever more of her energies into her beloved Packards.

But the outbreak of war also stiffens her brother Alec's resolve to stay firmly in control. . .

  • Published: 29 February 2012
  • ISBN: 9781448136117
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 464

About the author

Patricia Burns

Patricia Burns was born in Essex. After a childhood spent messing about on boats, she tried a variety of jobs from riveting plugs to serving in shops to market research. She then decided to train as a teacher, which she now combines with writing novels. In her rare spare time she enjoys lazing in the garden and entertaining friends, with the occasional bout of skiing, rock climbing and Egyptian Raqs Sharki dancing. She is now very happily single and still lives in Essex with her three children, a cat and delinquent tortoise.

Also by Patricia Burns

See all

Related titles