> Skip to content

Set in a land where magic can be terrifying, Chasing the Valley combines the friendship and camaraderie of Ranger’s Apprentice with the hardship and survival of The Hunger Games – with spectacular results.

Set in a land where magic can be terrifying, Chasing the Valley combines the friendship and camaraderie of Ranger’s Apprentice with the hardship and survival of The Hunger Games – with spectacular results.

Danika is used to struggling for survival. But when the tyrannous king launches an attack to punish her city – echoing the alchemy bombs that killed Danika’s family – she risks her life in a daring escape over the city’s walls.

Danika joins a crew of desperate refugees who seek the Magnetic Valley, a legendary safe haven. But when she accidentally destroys a palace biplane, Danika Glynn becomes the most wanted fugitive in Taladia.

Pursued by the king’s vicious hunters and betrayed by false allies, Danika also grapples with her burgeoning magical abilities. And when she meets the mysterious Lukas, she must balance her feelings against her crew’s safety.

Chasing the Valley is the first book in an epic trilogy of magic, treachery and survival.

Reviews

It really puts you into the action . . . This was the best book that I have ever read, when I had finished I wished that the book could have a sequel because it is so entertaining.

Nikolas, age 11, Random House Book Buddies

A cross between Percy Jackson and The Hunger Games. The characters are top class, the story is incredible. I have read many award-winning books and this takes the cake.

Charlie, age 12, Random House Book Buddies

I feel like words can’t truly describe my love for this book . . . Chasing the Valley has definitely made it into my top 5 favourite series.

Mea, age 14, Random House Book Buddies

Brilliant! . . . It has such a gripping storyline and I couldn’t put it down!

Benjamin, age 11, Random House Book Buddies

I liked the use of illusions, magical creations such as alchemy bombs and special powers called proclivities in the book . . . A whole new world filled with magic and excitement. It’s a great read!

Joel, age 12, Random House Book Buddies

A main thing for me was its smart, strong heroine Danika Glynn. Danika is a girl I can really relate to. She knew what she was doing and made choices that she stuck to . . . Another thing I liked was that the action was consistent throughout the book – there was not a dull moment anywhere between the pages . . . It was well written, and by mixing a sort of magic and a world that the characters had reason to run from, was refreshingly new.

Eleanor, age 14, Random House Book Buddies

I’d recommend this one to a range of younger readers, from the keen 9-year-olds who love Percy Jackson right up to Hunger Games fans in their early teens . . . Action-packed and entertaining.

Emily Gale, readings.com.au

Unpredictable and exciting, keeping the reader enchanted and wanting to hear more of this struggle for freedom and justice.

Sarah Filkin, readplus.com.au

An absorbing page-turner.

Ariel Zeitlin Cooke, Booklist

‘Chasing the Valley is the young adult fantasy fusion novel of the year. It's an engaging mix of magic within an oppressive dystopian world, and blends so effortlessly together . . . It was so entertaining that I found myself trying to preserve reading Chasing the Valley, but it was too difficult to put down. I absolutely loved it and now eagerly awaiting the second in this epic trilogy.

www.divabooknerd.com

If you are looking for something to fill the post-Hunger Games void, this will tick a lot of the boxes: there’s a strong female heroine, dystopian action packed adventure, solid plot and hardly any mushy romance . . . The drama starts on the first page and doesn’t let up. Great fun.

The Age

An insanely glorious blend of Steampunk Adventure and Dystopian Fantasy with a touch of Romance and the promise of a great series to follow. In other words . . . awesome! . . . Chasing the Valley is a non-stop, action-packed adventure from the first page to the last . . . Perfect for fans of Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones (the book as well as the movie) and Scott Westerfeld’s Leviathan.

Sarah McDuling, www.blog.booktopia.com.au

Read More

Formats & editions

  • Paperback

    9781742759548

    July 1, 2013

    Random House Australia Children's

    416 pages

    RRP $17.99

    Online retailers

    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Dymocks
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • The Nile
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

  • EBook

    9781742759555

    July 1, 2013

    RHA eBooks Child

    416 pages

    Online retailers

    • iBooks
    • Amazon Kindle
    • Booktopia
    • eBooks
    • Google Play
    • Kobo
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

Also by Skye Melki-Wegner

Agent Nomad 2: Deadly Magic
Agent Nomad 1: The Eleventh Hour
The Hush
Chasing the Valley 3: Skyfire
Chasing the Valley 2: Borderlands

Recommendations

Ranger's Apprentice 1: The Ruins Of Gorlan
The Dark Prophecy (The Trials Of Apollo Book 2)
Hollow City
Charlie And The Chocolate Factory
George's Marvellous Medicine
The Bfg
Charlie And The Great Glass Elevator
Eragon
Artemis Fowl
The Beast of Hushing Wood
Fate of Ten
Valentine
Hunted
Agent Nomad 2: Deadly Magic
Eldest
Dracula
Grimsdon
Magisterium: The Bronze Key
Voyager
The Night Circus