> Skip to content
  • Published: 5 March 2020
  • ISBN: 9780552174770
  • Imprint: Corgi
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 304
  • RRP: $19.99

A Dog Named Beautiful

The true story of the Labrador who taught a Marine to love life again



The heartwarming true story of a three-legged Labrador, her human and how to live each day as though it's your last.

For fans of Nala's World and Arthur, this is an uplifting and unforgettable true story about how the love of a good dog can save your life.

Rob Kugler adopted his chocolate Lab Bella as a puppy - a bundle of fun and love to keep his girlfriend company as he headed off to war. But when Rob's brother died and his relationship fell apart, it was Bella who was there to help heal the wounds, and make Rob's life worth living again. So when Rob was told Bella had cancer - first in her leg, which had to be amputated, and then in her lungs - he was devastated.

With only months of Bella's life left, he knew just what he had to do for his furry best friend. Determined to show her the same unconditional love she had always shown him, Rob decided to give Bella the farewell adventure of her doggy dreams. Criss-crossing the USA from coast to coast, making many new friends along the way, Bella taught Rob never to give up and to live each day as though it's your last.

A heartbreaking but ultimately uplifiting true tale, A Dog Named Beautiful is full of hope, love, tears and laughter. Enjoy the journey.
_______________

'Teaches the reader a wealth about the value of making human connections.' FORBES

  • Published: 5 March 2020
  • ISBN: 9780552174770
  • Imprint: Corgi
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 304
  • RRP: $19.99

About the author

Robert Kugler

Rob Kugler is a storyteller, photographer and writer. When he's not on the road, he lives in Nebraska and Hood River.

Praise for A Dog Named Beautiful

For fans of Marley and Me.

Best

Engaging and sometimes heart-rending ... a certain tear-jerker for dog lovers. Love, devotion and slobbery kisses abound in this heartwarming story of a man and his treasured chocolate Lab.

Kirkus

Give me a good pet story and I'm hooked... [This] is about the encounters man and dog had with strangers who became friends along the way - teaching the reader a wealth about the value of making human connections.

Forbes

A beautiful memoir.

Psychologies

A beautiful, beautiful book.

Jenna Bush Hager

Kugler expertly balances his personal journey through past trauma and to finding inner peace with Bella at his side with inspirational insights all readers can appreciate... This sweet story honoring the bond between animals and their people is a must-read for fans of A Dog Called Hope and Travels With Charley, and anyone open to a good, cathartic cry.

Booklist

Kugler’s heartfelt and uplifting story reveals the transformative power pets can have.

Publishers Weekly

Related titles