> Skip to content

Article  •  8 July 2022

 

What to read next based on your favourite coffee order

We all need a little help choosing our next read sometimes. This time, we've got you sorted!

Welcome one and all to the Penguin Bookish Café, where we take your coffee order and suggest a delightful read to devour alongside it.

Whether you’re here for something light and sweet, or your go-to coffee order is more along the lines of 'hit me with some caffeine, stat' we’ve got just the book to go with it.

So . . . what can we get you?

Espresso: You’re serious about your coffee, and that likely carries through in your reading habits. For the non-fiction lovers, we recommend discovering a new side to WWII history with a copy of The Scrap Iron Flotilla by Mike Carlton to read while you sip. If fiction is more your style, why not try Here Goes Nothing by Steve Toltz and have your strong, black coffee served with a side of mild existentialism?

The Scrap Iron Flotilla by Mike Carlton
Here Goes Nothing by Steve Toltz

Almond Latte: A little bit alternative but not too dark? Alright, we see you. We’ll be serving up your order along with a copy of Lessons in Chemistry by Bonnie Garmus. Elizabeth Zott is the unlikely heroine we can’t stop thinking about, much like you probably cannot stop thinking about when your next caffeine hit will be. We’re certain you’ll love both the book AND your latte equally (or . . . almost equally).

Lessons in Chemistry by Bonnie Garmus

Mocha: Ah, the delicious meeting of chocolate and coffee. There’s nothing quite like it. Something tells us you’re a bit of a romantic at heart, wanting everything in your life to have the sweetness turned up a notch. For you, we prescribe a copy of the delightful Book Lovers by Emily Henry to keep those stars (and hearts) in your eyes long past your last sip.

Book Lovers by Emily Henry

Hot Chocolate: Settling in for the night with a cup of hot chocolate is one of life’s simplest pleasures, especially on cold winter nights. This order can go two ways. We could offer you up a cosy crime novel like The Thursday Murder Club to go with your hot choccy, but something tells us you’re in the market for a younger and lighter read.

May we present, The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han. Full of beaches, swimming, young love, and laughter, you can follow it up by binge-watching the Amazon Prime series and dreaming of summer – with a second hot chocolate, of course.

The Thursday Murder Club by Richard Osman

Babycino: Of course, no trip to the café with bub would be complete without a babycino to enjoy (or smear all over their rosy cheeks)! For the little one in your life, we recommend Bluey and Bingo’s Fancy Restaurant Cookbook. The perfect way to introduce lots of yummy recipes for you to make together, ensuring delicious treats come with your coffee every time.

For the even littler ones you just can’t go past This Little Joey which is full of adorable baby marsupials from around Australia.

Bluey and Bingo's Fancy Restaurant Cookbook
This Little Joey by Renee Treml

We hope you enjoyed your visit to the Penguin Bookish Café! For more book recommendations, check out our wonderful book lists, where you can find a read for every taste – pun absolutely intended.

Featured Titles

The Scrap Iron Flotilla
Winner of the 2022 Commodore Sam Bateman Book Prize, awarded annually by the Australian Naval Institute to recognise excellence in books making a major contribution to naval and maritime matters
Read more
Here Goes Nothing
The virtuoso new novel from the author of the Booker-shortlisted A Fraction of the Whole.
Read more
Lessons in Chemistry
The 6-million-copy worldwide and Sunday Times #1 bestseller and award-winner featuring the uncompromising, unconventional Elizabeth Zott
Read more
Book Lovers
Set over one sizzling August, BOOK LOVERS is the new chemistry-filled 'rivals to lovers' romcom from New York Times #1 bestseller Emily Henry
Read more
The Thursday Murder Club
Four unlikely friends A shocking murder Welcome to THE THURSDAY MURDER CLUB
Read more
The Summer I Turned Pretty
The Summer I Turned Pretty is now a major new TV series on Amazon Prime! If you loved The Kissing Booth and Jenny Han's smash-hit Netflix movie series To All the Boys I Loved Before, then you'll adore this gorgeous, funny, romantic story!
Read more
This Little Joey

A wonderful new board book starring Australia's many marsupial joeys, by bestselling author Renée Treml.

Read more

More features

See all
Article
The 10 bestselling fiction books of 2023

Check out our top-selling fiction books this year.

Article
The best books to read with your book club in spring 2023

These are the Penguin Random House books that over 48,000 book clubs voted as the best group reads this October.

Article
Everything you need to know about the Lessons in Chemistry TV show

Lessons in Chemistry is getting TV treatment with a new Apple TV+ series based on the book. Learn more about it here.

Article
Your guide to the books and authors on this weekend's RN Big Weekend of Books

Tune into Radio National on Saturday 17 June and Sunday 18 June.

Article
QUIZ: Are you Team Conrad or Team Jeremiah?

Take this quiz to find out which side you stand on in the Conrad versus Jeremiah debate.

Article
What book to gift Mum this Mother’s Day, based on her favourite flower

Find the perfect book based on the blooms she already loves.

Article
CBCA Book of the Year Notables 2023

Nine Penguin and Puffin books have been selected for the CBCA Book Awards Notables list this year.

Article
How to host a ‘The Summer I Turned Pretty’ book club

Host your own book club to re-read ‘The Summer I Turned Pretty’ before season two drops.

Article
The best books to read with your book club in autumn 2023

These are the Penguin Random House books that over 48,000 book clubs voted as the best group reads this March.

Article
QUIZ: Which book should you read this summer?

Take this quiz to discover what your summer read should be in 2023.

Article
Richard Osman’s whirlwind Australia tour was a smashing success

In just four and a half days, the international bestselling author won the hearts of Australian readers.

Article
Some of the most anticipated books of 2024

From authors including Rachael Johns, Amor Towles, Leigh Bardugo and so many others!

Looking for more articles?

See all articles