> Skip to content



Enter Our New Literary Prize

Announcing the inaugural Penguin Random House Australia Literary Prize and details of entry.

We are thrilled to announce the establishment of the inaugural Penguin Random House Australia Literary Prize.  Officially launched at the Leading Edge Books Roadshow in Sydney on 17 July, this prize endeavours to find, nurture and develop new Australian authors writing in the areas of literary fiction and non-fiction, and celebrates the recent formation of the Penguin Random House Literary Division.

Penguin Random House’s literary heritage is unrivalled, having published some of the finest names in Australian literature - including Tim Winton, David Malouf, Elliot Perlman, Anna Funder, Fiona McFarlane, Frank Moorhouse, Melina Marchetta, J M Coetzee, Robert Drewe, Nam Le, Chloe Hooper, Don Watson, Joan London, Patrick White, Evie Wyld, Richard Flanagan, Peter Carey and Tom Keneally.

Of the prize, Nikki Christer, Group Publishing Director of Penguin Random House Australia said, “Penguin Random House is home to many of Australia’s most admired and celebrated authors. The Penguin Random House Australia Literary Prize will enable us to remain a great house of literature, by helping us discover the great writers of tomorrow.”

“Working with Leading Edge Books as judges, this prize draws on the expertise of over 150 independent book retailers, and the editors at some of the world’s most celebrated literary imprints. This prize offers aspiring and diverse writers from all across the country a chance to connect with people who can celebrate their work. I know we’ll be starting the careers of this country’s future stars,” said Ben Ball, Publishing Director Penguin Random House Literary.

Submissions are being accepted from today, with entry open to all Australian residents aged 18 and above. Entries will close on Friday 20 October. 

Entries will need to include a 300 word synopsis, manuscript and pitch document (full details on the entry page below). 

The winner, to be announced on Friday 9 February 2018, will be awarded $20,000, with the winning book slated for publication in early 2019.


Read our Frequently Asked Questions

Other News

New from John Green

Turtles All the Way Down will publish 10 October 2017.

New Novel from Richard Flanagan

First Person -- Richard Flanagan’s first novel since winning the Man Booker Prize in 2014 -- is to be published in Australia in October this year.

Looking for more news?

See All News